Home > 1L: summer > I am such a nerd

I am such a nerd

June 28, 2006

Today, I’m working on some proofreading. I haven’t gotten to proofread in a long time, and I forgot how soothing it can be. It’s the best kind of proofreading, too–the kind where you don’t have to worry about substantive content (because that stuff has already been done), and all you have to do is read each word to make sure it’s spelled right, check for curly quotes, commas, spacing, and–best of all!–conformity to style.

And no, I am not being sarcastic!

Because, yeah, I hate the Bluebook when I have to figure out how to make my own citations conform and there’s no rule. But when I’m just double-checking someone else’s work, sifting through the Bluebook (or the Chicago Manual of Style, and YAY, I get to use my very own copy of it, finally), it’s nice. Soothing, like I said. It’s not boring or mindless, but it’s not super-challenging, either. It’s the kind of welcome break my brain sometimes needs.

Categories: 1L: summer
  1. PG
    July 3, 2006 at 12:20 pm

    I love copy editing, but the Bluebook frequently frustrates me too much for it to be soothing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.