Home > 1L: summer > :::pulling hair from scalp:::

:::pulling hair from scalp:::

June 27, 2006

Westlaw is about to shred my last nerve.

And before you all go getting clever, telling me to use Lexis, let me note that the vast majority of the journals I’m likely to find good material in are not available on Lexis. Because that’s how much Lexis hates me.

Categories: 1L: summer
  1. June 27, 2006 at 11:10 am

    Yeah, it’s the bane of my existence, too. Lexis is such a superior search but Westlaw’s got the goods. It sucks.

  2. June 27, 2006 at 11:26 pm

    I hate Westlaw.

    I wish Google would get into the legal search business.

  3. June 28, 2006 at 3:08 pm

    I am inclined to disagree. The search logic in westlaw is much stronger than in lexis. The database layout is also much more intuitive. I guess it all comes down to preference. What are you looking for?

  4. June 28, 2006 at 3:40 pm

    theDonnybrook, my big problem with Westlaw isn’t that I don’t get the search results I want–usually I do, and I get more of them than on Lexis, since Lexis doesn’t have several of the journals I’m looking in–it’s that Westlaw itself, as a webpage, as a searchable database, is a piece of crap. I’m on a high-speed connection, I’ve done a search, and Westlaw has returned 65 results–a good number. Why, though, does it take FIVE MINUTES to load each page of 20 results? Why does Westlaw time me out when I haven’t left the site? Why does it TOTALLY FREAK OUT when I load search results in new, background tabs?

    It’s all just too much, I tell you. Lexis ain’t perfect, but it very rarely makes me want to cry, knowing that my search produced the ONE article I need, but I can’t get to it because the actual mechanism has FAILED.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
