Home > meta, moving, of note > new and old

new and old

October 1, 2009

So I started a new job.

The transition was expected—I’ve been waiting to start this job for over a year now, in fact—and it’s been pretty smooth so far. The biggest change is that I get up every day knowing exactly what I’m supposed to do that day. And that there’s always something to do. ((Note that I do not say the stuff is always interesting. Sometimes it is not. But that’s OK. That would be miraculous indeed, if my work was always interesting.))

I don’t want to make it sound like I am already good at my job—that’s not what I mean when I say I always know what I’m supposed to do. I mean that my tasks each day are clear: read X, write Y, stuff like that. The writing process is a little uncertain, but isn’t it always? At least I know, every day, what my duties are and that, every day, those duties will be there.

This is a far cry from my last job where entire weeks would go by and I would have no clue what I was supposed to be doing, how to do it, or when it was due. And then whole weeks would go by when I didn’t have anything new to do. These things are not good. And, while I don’t want to say I was always miserable, I was often unhappy and stressed at my last job. I’m not unhappy and stressed at my new job. I am barely into it, of course, so there may come a day when my job is stressful, maybe, but for now, it’s terrific.

But my new job is also even more restrictive on me, in terms of what I can say about it and to whom. In other words, I still can’t write about work here, nor do I particularly want to. Given that this blog was intended to chronicle the law school adventure, I think it’s time to wrap it up.

In the next few days, I’m going to migrate all of these posts to a new platform, likely a free one, for archival purposes only. All of these posts will still be out there, on the internets, for posterity, but there won’t be any new ones. I hope what I’ve written continues to be useful; if it’s not, it’s still going to be out there.

And I’ll move on to other outlets. Thanks for reading for so long.

Categories: meta, moving, of note
  1. Kim
    October 2, 2009 at 3:09 am

    Congratulations on the new job. I’ll miss you here.

  2. renee
    October 7, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Divine Angst,
    You’re the reason i went back to law school,
    you’re my inspiration,
    i sat up all night one night justs before commencing my JD and read the lot in one sitting!
    What a loser you might say! But no, i found your ability to express your thoughts and adventures, inspiring.
    So thank divineangst you for being so open and honest even though i can tell you’re an introvert.
    Also, i think you’re a wonderful writer, sincere and direct with a pinch of humour and ample grace.
    I think you should continue to write, the community is worse off without you,
    take care and best wishes in all your endeavours,
    Renee 1L
    from Australia!

  3. October 11, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I understand completely! Hope you’ll be back. 🙂

  4. butterflyfish
    October 20, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Email me with your new locale?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.