Archive

Archive for May 3, 2006

it's the day before the last day of the day before the rest of my life

May 3, 2006 Comments off

My outline is done. My short outline is done. My flowchart is done. Twenty-six pages, four pages, and two pages, respectively. In no greater than 10 point font throughout. I have two practice exams printed out, which I will look at tonight, probably someplace that is not my apartment. In less than 24 hours (hopefully, in less than 18 hours, actually), I will be done with my first year of law school. OK, except for that writing competition thing. Shh. Don’t tell my brain.

Right now, though, I am taking a break. It’s the second significant one I’ve taken today–the first I took so I could go to yoga. I’m watching a movie, I had a cookie (and some dinner, I’m not totally depraved), and I am craving a beer. I won’t have a beer. Instead I’ll probably have coffee at whatever establishment I land tonight.

Deep breaths. I’m ready to be done with this year. I really am. And yet, something keeps me from wanting to be finished. If I finish my last exam, it means I’m really done with the first year of law school. And if I finish my first year, I have to think about the second year, and about picking classes and deciding what sort of law I want to practice and what sort of things I want to write about for my senior paper and what sort of things I’m going to do after I graduate.

It’s a little terrifying, actually. But deep breaths. I can do this. I am ready.

Categories: 1L, just me

gr.

May 3, 2006 2 comments

There are so many posts floating around in my head right now, things about conflicting news stories I’ve read and crazy cat ladies I’ve seen…but I have NO TIME to write any of them.

Sorry folks. A day or so more, and I think I’ll be back up to speed. Until then…

Categories: just me