Archive

Archive for December 1, 2007

what to do on a snowy day but bake?

December 1, 2007 1 comment

The weather is gross.

I had five overripe bananas in the freezer.

So I made banana bread.

Grandmother’s Banana Bread

1 cup shortening
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 tsp baking soda in 1/2 cup hot water (stir)
3 cups flour
2 cups mashed banana
1 tsp salt
1 cup nuts (optional)

Mix ingredients in order. ((Beat shortening in stand mixer.
Cream sugar with shortening.
Mixing on low-medium or so, add eggs, one at a time.
Add vanilla.
Turn mixer to low. Heat 1/2 cup hot water, then add 2 tsp soda and stir; pour into the batter. Batter will be runny.
With mixer still on low, add flour, one cup at a time.
Add mashed banana.
Add salt.
Stir in nuts, if using.))

Pour into three greased coffee cans. If you don’t have coffee cans (I don’t) baking crocks will work fine. I have two crocks that are slightly larger than a coffee can, so I only make two “loaves.” You can use loaf pans—I think the recipe makes about 2 loaves, but I’m not sure, since I haven’t made this recipe in loaf pans in about 15 years. I highly recommend using coffee cans if you can—the ridges on the sides of the can make an excellent slicing guide, for perfectly round, 3/4″ thick slices.

Bake 1 hour at 350˚ if doing three cans; 1 hour and 15 minutes if using two crocks, and probably an hour or so for loaves.

My grandmother has been making this banana bread forever‚ and everyone in my family makes this recipe, too. It’s foolproof and excellent and it is so quick and easy to make. Start the oven preheating, then get to mixing, and by the time the batter’s done, the oven should be hot.

The only problem is letting the loaves cool enough to eat them.

Banana Bread

Categories: food

a little backwards

December 1, 2007 Comments off

When the weather gets really gross, that’s the time to hunker down at home with hot tea and Get Things Done.

Of course that means I went to a small pre-exam shindig last night, and will be going to a birthday dinner tonight. Sigh.

Categories: just me