Home > just me > oof

oof

March 10, 2009

In a final, desperate attempt to lose that summer associate weight (god, almost two years later), I caved and did something I have never, ever done.

I bought an exercise video.

Namely, the 30-Day Shred.

I thought I was in decent shape, even if a little flabby and a few pounds too heavy.

Um.

I am apparently not in any kind of shape at all. I did about 12 minutes of the 20-minute workout, approximately one and a half circuits, six total minutes of strength training, two total minutes of cardio, and one minute of abs, and I Cannot. Raise. My. Arms.

My legs are OK. For now. I think the pain is yet to come in my lower body. Frankly, the pain is yet to come in my upper body; I don’t think uncontrollable trembling counts as pain, even though it is uncomfortable.

Mr. Angst says I need to do it again tomorrow, so that I get in the habit of it, so that I stick with it. I told him I’ll do it, half-assed if necessary, if I am actually physically CAPABLE of raising my arms.

Ten bucks says I won’t be able to raise my arms.

Categories: just me
  1. Chere
    March 10, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    That DVD kicked my butt…

  2. March 10, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    I always overdo it the first time I go back to exercising, and then end up totally sore and stiff for like, a week. Maybe that’s why I never keep it up.

  3. March 10, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    It gets easier, I promise. The first time I did it, it took me three or four days before I stopped hurting enough to try again. But sticking with it is totally worth it.

  4. rj loop
    March 11, 2009 at 9:27 am

    I tried a 30 day shred, but mine involved cabbage and pork. Didn’t lose weight.

  5. March 15, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    I always feel that way after dancing. Did the video have an intense instructor and cheesy music?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
