Home > The Bar > bar over, sober fail

bar over, sober fail

July 30, 2008

So I’m done with the bar. I’ve consumed approximately 1/3 (give or take) of each of two bottles of wine (which I guess is 2/3 give or take of ONE bottle of wine), a very good steak ((I won’t say a great steak because I have a hard time calling a steak great. My steak was cooked as I wanted it, and the texture was great, but flavor was just OK. So it was a very good steak instead of a great steak)), and now I have nothing to do but laze around until tomorrow at about 10:30 when I leave for my spa day. So, really, I have nothing to do for the next two days but transport myself the six or so blocks to and from the spa (handy that), in between which I get a full DAY of I-have-nothing-to-do-but-be-pampered. Sweet.

Since I’m talking about my future-beyond-the-bar, let me offer my opinion about what it is about the bar that is SO awful. Because it is not the amount of work compressed into a tiny period of time—I went to a college that required comprehensive exams in each major, so TWICE in my last semester, I spent an 8-hour day regurgitating information onto a screen (luckily that was an option even way back in the stone ages when I was in college) with no real idea of what might be asked. Thankfully, I managed to learn enough stuff to answer the questions and graduate in both of my majors (even though I did not comp with distinction, but c’est la vie, I had other shit going on). But I had eight hours each time to work at my own pace and answer the questions that were given and, while I used up my eight hours, I didn’t have to sit through INSTRUCTIONS.

Yes, the part of the bar that is the worst is the INSTRUCTIONS. If I have to hear one more time how I cannot have sunglasses or headwear that is not of a religious nature, or any other item, including books, papers, study materials, aids, or any other similar or dissimilar items near me at my seating location, I might just have to hurt someone. Also awful: the BOREDOM. There is the boredom involved with hearing the instructions for the fourth time. There is also the boredom of realizing I cannot write anything more on these essays because I (a) don’t know what I’m saying, (b) don’t want to erase something right for something wrong just because I THINK I didn’t know what I was saying earlier or (c) I couldn’t care less, BUT the bar examiners in my state won’t LET ME LEAVE YET. ((Yes, I know in some of your states, you can leave as soon as you are done and want to leave. Not us. If you finish early, you have to STAY UNTIL THE TIME IS UP. This, folks, BLOWS.)) The boredom of sitting and watching the clock for fifteen minutes when you know looking over your answers is futile and NOT in your best interests because you don’t know any more now than you did twenty minutes (or an hour or two hours) ago when you first looked at the question, thought carefully about it, and answered it, is UNBEARABLE. And you can’t sleep because you had too much caffeine so you’d be alert for the damm BAR EXAM. Boo.

OK, I have more wine to drink.

Categories: The Bar
  1. July 30, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Congrats on finishing and surviving! I have two years until I face the bar, but when I think about it, I’m absolutely terrified.

  2. July 31, 2008 at 1:08 am

    First, CONGRATS!

    Second, OH the boredom. Ow, ow, ow. Boredom spiced by terror, but still. Although if you took it in the state I think you did, all the stories I heard made me think the people running the bar exam there give petty tyrants a bad name. They are, from all reports, tiny-brained, incompetent, and vindictive.

    Enjoy your spa day, and the wonderfulness of doing nothing instead of the trapped boredom of doing nothing. Funny, how the quality of doing nothing can vary so widely.

  3. July 31, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Congrats on being DONE. Time to put it behind you and relax!

  4. July 31, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    OH EM GEE! You have to WAIT til it’s OVER? Oh Jeeeebus. I was done on both parts of the essay with an HOUR left. To sit there for an hour? Die.

  5. Faye
    August 1, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Congratulations on finishing! They say, it’s half your success to have it done. Have fun at the spa!

  6. Jed
    August 3, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    lol. Yes, the instructions are absolutely horrible… I was particularly ammused that during the section about what we could and couldn’t have on/with us, they kept saying that women were allowed to have purses. Um, so women can have purses, but men can’t have any kind of bag, not even a purse? Hello-equal protection problem? State actors? Gender as a quasi-suspect category? Heightened scrutiny? Not even a rationale basis involved? 😛

    And ouch-I’m sorry to hear that you weren’t able to leave when you finished! In MD, you are allowed to leave when you finished-during the first half of the MBE, I thought were were allowed to leave between the 30 minutes left and 15 minutes left part, but not otherwise, so, my test booklet has a lot of pretty doodles in it until we hit the 30 minute mark. Before the 2nd half, I clarified that we’re allowed to leave at any point up until the 15 minute mark, so, I left as soon as I finished and checked my work.

    I think I would have gone crazy if I had to sit there…

  7. k
    August 5, 2008 at 12:38 am

    no, we were reminded over and over again that we were NOT allowed purses, bags, or any other sort of bag.

  8. rp
    August 13, 2008 at 9:25 am

    I took the IL bar, and was amazed at the lengths they went through to tell us the rules, then left them unenforced. TWO, yes TWO, cell phones went off with about 30 mins left on the second day, and the proctors did absolutely nothing. WTF is the point of rules if they mean nothing!?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
