Home > Uncategorized > things that bug me enough to blog about them when I'm also in the middle of the bar

things that bug me enough to blog about them when I'm also in the middle of the bar

July 29, 2008

You know what annoys me?

Women who get married and then put their middle name in “air quotes” in their name in Facebook. So, for instance, Jane ‘Doe’ Smith.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 29, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Yes!!! I totally agree!

  2. LL
    July 29, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Okay, I do (or did, I think now the quotes are gone, but anyway) this and it was because old elementary school people had no idea who I was with only my married name and new people I’d met were confused by the two names (my maiden name sounds weird next to my married name and I didn’t keep my maiden name in any way so it was odd to have it as part of my name). They won’t let you list a previous name, which would make things so much easier, so you use the quotes to note that Hey I’m that person you sat next to in 3rd grade but you don’t necessarily just put the old name by your new one because it’s not part of your name anymore.

    Wow that was rambly and barely coherent. Things are looking good for me tomorrow.

    I hope today went well for you!

  3. butterflyfish
    July 30, 2008 at 6:12 am

    I have considered adding it so my high school friends can find me… i looked through my graduating class and found nearly everyone because they had done airquotes

  4. k
    July 30, 2008 at 6:59 am

    No, I get that you want to put your maiden name. It’s the scare quotes that bother me. Use parentheses! OR, Facebook now has a “former name” field where you can put your former name to help with people searching for you.

  5. Kel
    July 30, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    What annoys me is when they use their wedding picture as their profile pic and they were married over two years ago.

    Honestly, does a wedding have to define you THAT much.

  6. July 30, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    yeah…the quotes are ridiculous. put it as the middle name, or not at all.

    in other news…congrats on finishing the bar!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
