Home > The Bar > getting ready

getting ready

July 28, 2008

Today is the last day. I’m trying to take advantage of it, without burning myself out. I went to Starbucks for a while, had some tea, read some essays and essay answers. Then I grabbed sushi for lunch (fish = brain food), reading essays while I enjoyed my food. Then I went to a different Starbucks and tried to read some more, but that Starbucks was hosting a staff meeting of Starbucks employees and they were LOUD, so I came home, took a shower, and now I’m reading more essays.

I don’t think there’s anything more I can do at this point—even reading these essays feels sort of futile. Futile is maybe a little more defeatist of a word than I’d choose, but I can’t think of a better one. I doubt anything I read today is going to make a serious difference in what I write down tomorrow, and it’s possible that things I read today could psyche me out for tomorrow. So maybe I should stop reading essays!

The plan for tonight is to eat a healthy dinner, pack up all of my stuff for tomorrow, and get to bed early. My packing list includes:

  • 1 laptop computer, with two batteries installed ((I’m using Mr. Angst’s laptop, and it has an extra battery that slides into the optical drive bay. With wireless turned off, I can get a full 5 hours of use from the sucker just on battery. I hope I won’t need that, but it’s good to know in any case.))
  • 1 laptop power adapter
  • 1 power strip ((I’m allowed a 6′ extension cord, but I couldn’t find one that would take a three-prong plug, as my power adapter has, so I’m going to take my power strip, which will accommodate a three-prong plug, and is about 5.5′ long.))
  • 1 pair earplugs
  • 1 analog watch ((Just my normal watch.))
  • 1 hoodie sweatshirt in case it is cold

Other than that, I’m planning on setting up the coffeemaker before I go to bed so I can just hit the button in the morning. I’m hoping that that will ensure I drink coffee at home instead of on the way, giving me plenty of time to process it, as it were. I don’t want to face the bathroom break dilemma.

In the morning, I plan to get up bright and early, turn on the coffee, get dressed, eat breakfast and drink the coffee, take 2 Aleve to preempt any RSI twinges, and get in a cab by 6:45 am. I have to be in my seat by 7:30.

Good luck to everyone taking the bar tomorrow!

Categories: The Bar
  1. July 28, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    you get to use your laptop? lucky. i was too slow, and didn’t get a spot in the laptop program. so…i’m handwriting, and my hand will be spasming.

  2. July 28, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Yeah, I missed the laptop registration, too. 😦

    But I am enjoying sushi tonight… it’s a pre-exam tradition of mine. 🙂

    Good luck!!

  3. Mel Woods
    July 28, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Good luck!

  4. k
    July 28, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Yeah, I jumped on the laptop registration as soon as it was open. I haven’t written anything substantial by hand since the English AP exam, and that was more years ago than I care to admit. (All my college essay exams could be taken in a computer lab by choice.) Bar/Bri alone has turned my hand into a little ball of hate.

  5. July 28, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I have laptop envy. In MD, everyone handwrites. By the end of the 12 essays, my handwriting was huge, scribbly and barely legible… and it’s a wonder I passed.

    Good luck!

  6. July 29, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Good luck!

  7. Jean
    July 29, 2008 at 6:41 am

    Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
