Home > The Bar > grrr.

grrr.

July 24, 2008

‘Splain please.

I took the half-day MBE exam in Volume 2. I got a 58%. Part of that may have been that I was just tired, but I can’t imagine that was the only factor. Why? Because I did another mixed subject set in Volume 2 and got 88% correct. ((I had seen some of those questions before, on the Study Smart software. Of the NEW questions in that set, I still got 88% correct.)) WTF? I seriously don’t understand! Do they deliberately make the practice exam questions HARDER? Going by the mixed sets, I’m doing OK (going slowly, reading carefully, eliminating answers one by one); going by the practice exam, I’m seriously in trouble.

Anyone else noticing this?

Categories: The Bar
  1. July 24, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    YES!!!!

    i got a 65% on the full day in volume 2…and have been getting in the eighties on the mixed sets, too!

    i don’t know what’s up with that, but i’m really hoping the real test is like the mixed sets.

  2. heather
    July 24, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    i wouldn’t try to understand anything having to do with barbri!

    my understanding from scouring the blogs and boards (jdunderground, autoadmit, etc) is that the question sets in the barbri mpq2 book are, well, easy. the released questions are supposed to be on the easier side of what will be on the bar – rationale being that NCBE isn’t going to release their gems, they keep those just for us!

    the “exams” are harder to keep you with your nose to the grindstone until the very last second. 58% is still totally in the ballpark.

  3. July 24, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    OMG, I just did the half day today too and I’m on the verges of tears again right now. I got 64%. Combine that with my thoroughly unscientific self-grading system for the rest of the subjects, and I am failing the bar. I’m trying not to stress, but WTF?

  4. Sarah
    July 24, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Every single person I’ve talked to that have done the MBE 1/2 day in the MPQ2 book (including me), has done *significantly* worse than even the full day mock MBE that most of us took like 3-4 weeks ago.

    So no worries; I think it’s more of a Bar/Bri thing than anything to do with your MBE abilities.

  5. k
    July 24, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    I have heard the released questions are easier, but what about the Bar/Bri sets in Volume 2? Are those supposed to be easier, too?

  6. Cd
    July 24, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Hmm, I only got a 70 on the half day, which I was fine with. You guys are forgetting that you only need something like 60% to pass This isn’t the real world folks, it’s the bar exam, you’ll all do fine.

  7. k
    July 24, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Right, 60%. And I got a 58%. I’m gonna be pissed if I fail because of a couple of points, OK?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
