Home > The Bar > a list, that devolves into narrative

a list, that devolves into narrative

July 23, 2008
  1. The released questions make me happy. Really, really happy. I don’t feel stupid when I do them.
  2. I do better on essays when I trust my instincts. I think it goes like this: use the jargon for the most points, get the idea for the next most points, and finally, guess if you have no idea. When I trust my instincts I usually end up in the middle there. The middle is good.
  3. I’m still in panic mode but I don’t feel as wrecked as I did earlier today. I think, however, I may need to take tonight off. I’m getting plenty of sleep but I’m still waking up tired because my sleep is so interrupted by bar panic.
  4. For instance, last night I had a dream about shoes, namely about buying shoes, which I love to do and which usually makes me happy. But my dream had my shoes being taken away from me for (completely wrong and inexplicable) constitutional law reasons. This is bad. The bar is turning even my good dreams into nightmares.
Categories: The Bar
  1. Ana
    July 23, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Oh yay! Good for you!

  2. Mel Woods
    July 23, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Glad you feel better. I am taking a break to watch Project Runway tonight. I recommend you do the same 🙂

  3. July 24, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Project Runway breaks are great to actually give the mind a rest. I highly recommend it. So does Suede. 🙂

  4. July 24, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Rest assured that you are absolutely supposed to panic. Everyone does. It’s hugely intimidating. If you weren’t panicking, then I’d say you weren’t taking this seriously enough.

    But I know you’ll pass the bar. I’m sure everyone is saying that, but that may be because we all know it to be true.

    Hey, look at it this way: the odds are in your favor. You attended a top tier law school. Of that top tier school, you’re probably well ranked in your class. When you think about it that way, you’re probably the top 2% of all law students in the country and similarly highly ranked in your state. The pass rate in your state is probably something like 55-65%, right? What are the chances that you would drop from that top tier to the bottom 35-45%? Not much, I’m guessing.

    So you’ll pass. The process will suck, but you’ll make it.

    And yeah, use the jargon in the essays. Sometimes the graders skim and just look for the right words without reading closely. I’m pretty sure that’s how I passed the essays.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
