Home > The Bar > flashcards! yay!

flashcards! yay!

June 19, 2008

I’ve begun making flashcards.

I like it already—I can see that this studying method is actually going to be really useful for me.

That is, if I can get my hand not to cramp up after writing out about twelve cards. I am beginning to dread how long this is going to take me.

Categories: The Bar
  1. June 19, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    talk to me about what you are doing on them? 1 card for negligence elements? or some other method. What I’m doing is not speaking to me.

  2. k
    June 19, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Well, I found this post and it really helped me; I’ve never been much of a flashcard-maker, myself. It’s all question-and-answer—I need context rather than just “term” and “definition.”

    My cards are very chunked. So, for intentional torts, yeah, I’m doing the elements. But I’m doing more molecular cards for bigger topics like negligence: Q: “Who is owed a duty of care?” A: “All foreseeable plaintiffs” and Q: “When will injury to reputation be presumed in a defamation case?” A: “If libel or if slander per se (about business or profession, crimes involving moral turpitude, loathsome disease, or unchastity of a woman)”

    By the way, the unchastity of a woman is one of my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE reasons for a statement to be slander per se. It’s so ridiculously sexist.

  3. June 19, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    I’ve found that flashcards can be useful for so many random things. Like you said, there can be theory stuff as well as factual stuff on them.

    ~ps

  4. June 20, 2008 at 8:48 am

    That’s funny… I’ve been making flash cards, too! I find it helps me learn just through the process of condensing and re-writing the rules/element on the cards. I’d do the same thing condensing their outlines, but this way, at the end I have cards I can use to quiz or review just about anywhere… bonus! 🙂

  5. June 20, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Thanks K. Maybe I’ll give that a whirl.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
