Home > The Bar > And I thought Torts was bad

And I thought Torts was bad

June 1, 2008

Commercial paper is the first subject I’ve encountered where I honestly don’t understand half the words I’m reading. Reading the outline is like reading a overwritten contract, and it makes my head hurt to try and decipher what the hell is going on.

I think it’s probably a good thing it’s only an essay subject, but no less terrifying because of it.

Categories: The Bar
  1. June 1, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    The UCC sections for commercial paper are actually pretty well-written, if you can stomach the reading…

  2. Meg
    June 2, 2008 at 7:24 am

    Did you say what bar exam you’re taking? Commercial Paper is very rarely tested, and can usually be picked up with some practice essay question drills from the [State] Testing book. As an aside and horror story, Commerical Paper was an entire question on the New York Bar last summer – I think I did ok on it (because of the aforementioned essays), but lots of people just put down the mnuemonics associated with it and passed anyway. 🙂

  3. June 2, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Phew… it’s not just me! I read the commercial paper outline last night, and I thought… sh*t. I *knew* I should have taken Commercial Paper and Secured Transactions!!

    If you want some relief, read Suretyship… 8 pages, and it couldn’t be more straightforward.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
