Home > food > foodblogging, yay!

foodblogging, yay!

March 24, 2008

I like spaghetti squash. But all that bunk about being able to treat spaghetti squash just like pasta is just that: bunk. It tastes like squash, therefore it is not good with red sauce, olive oil and basil, or anything else I’d sauce pasta with. But it’s tasty, pretty good for you, and doesn’t require a lot of fussing—you apply heat in your favorite form (steam, bake, microwave steam, whatever), chop in half (or you can do those two things in the opposite order, depending on how you are applying the heat), and use a fork to pull the threads out into a big pile.

But still, it’s not a pasta replacement. And I always struggle with how to prepare it because of that. Until I found this recipe. This looked really good, pretty easy, and we had a spaghetti squash sitting around, so I made it.

OMG. SO GOOD.

Of course I had to adjust it a bit. I added about a teaspoon of garlic powder because I like garlic, and I cooked the pancakes in butter in my cast-iron skillet. Make them relatively thin or they’ll be too soft and mushy. I served them with low-fat sour cream and some leftover spiced apples we had. (No applesauce, but the spiced apples were probably better.)

MMMMMMM. YUMMY.

Categories: food
