Home > tech > what do you think?

what do you think?

January 31, 2008

It’s finally happened.

After nearly three years of regular abuse, my trusty 12″ Powerbook is becoming a bit gimpy. The handrests are pitted all to hell, the case is a little bent in places, and the power supply connection is getting finicky again. I’ve discovered that the angle of my screen can dramatically affect the strength of the wireless signal I get at home (though that might a have non-hardware-related basis), and the little light that’s supposed to show when the computer is asleep (right at the latch) has all but stopped working.

In other words, I’m thinking it might be time to get a new machine.

This one is out of AppleCare in June, so I probably want to get something before then. I don’t necessarily see the need to spring for the Macbook Air (though, gosh, it sure is pretty), and I’m not sure I need the power of a Macbook Pro. But the regular Macbooks are awfully heavy for their size, and I’d rather maximize my screen real estate. I’m also not as concerned with durability as I once was since I won’t be carrying the new computer back and forth to school every day. (Note: if I were buying right now for law school, I’d definitley go with the plastic case of the Macbook rather than the aluminum case of the Macbook Pro, just for the sake of durability.)

The only other limiting factor I have is that I will be getting a Mac. I really don’t want a PC; if I need to use a PC for any reason, there are plenty of those floating around my house, thanks to Mr. Angst; I am deeply comfortable with the Mac interface; and I really, really don’t want a Dell.

With those constraints in mind, what do you think? Should I get a Macbook? Macbook Pro? Throw practicality out the window and get the Air? ((In the meantime, I think I will take my little 12″ into the Apple Store over Spring Break (while I’m out of town, hopefully) and have them do what they can with the fritzy light and the finicky power supply connector. Since I still have a few months of AppleCare, I might as well use it.))

Categories: tech
  1. January 31, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Who knows, I’ve heard of the geek bar giving people new laptops and transfering everything over after not being able to restore perfect performance to a Macbook still under AppleCare. You could get a free upgrade!

  2. February 1, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    I *love* my MacBook. Love it, love it, love it. I would highly recommend it to anyone, especially a Mac user already…

    If you don’t need the power of a Macbook Pro, which I don’t–90% of what I do is Firefox, Word and Excel, it’s more than powerful enough. The MagSafe power connector has saved my life and my sanity many times, and I have it configured to dual boot into Windows, for those pesky times when I have to run some crapware that is Windows only. It’s faster in Windows than any other machine in my house. πŸ™‚

    I don’t find it too heavy at all, but there is enough I don’t like about the Air, that I wouldn’t buy it… it looks beautiful, but the USB port is designed so that not all USB devices will fit in it! I also like to have an optical drive with me all the time (I have burned CDs on the fly before) and if I have to lug it around anyway, it might as well be part of the machine.

    Anyway, you can’t really go wrong–you’ll be getting a new, faster Mac with Leopard… πŸ™‚

  3. ana
    February 1, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Um, do we really need to have this conversation? For some reason, my gut tells me that you want the air. Get the air. Don’t justify, don’t rationalize. If you want the air, get the air.

  4. k
    February 1, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    (Ana is right . . . that I already know what I want. I want the Pro. But I feel the need to justify getting the pricier, heavier machine that has more power than I need, when the Macbook would be Just Fine–cheaper, a little lighter, black. :))

  5. Sammi
    February 2, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    I’d go for the Air. It is really the hottest electronic I’ve ever seen. Besides if you’re going to drop over $1000 on an item you already know you love throw in the extra cash for something you’re lusting over. Do you have a Mac Store around you that you can give it a “test drive”?

    I’m getting my first MacBook in a few weeks. I can’t wait to be impressed!

  6. February 6, 2008 at 7:31 am

    I have the Pro, and I love it and wouldn’t trade it for anything. I think it actually feels more durable than my classmates’ regular MacBooks, and I love love love the screen size — whoever told me that I’d want to be able to have two word/pdf documents side-by-side was a total genius.

    The Air is gorgeous, but I’d only want one if I also had an iMac at home.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
