Home > 3L, The Bar > oh gag

oh gag

January 7, 2008

Look, it’s bad enough that I have to report all my addresses since I was 18. But it’s even worse that, in the four years I was in college, I lived in the dorms (i.e., didn’t have a year-round address of my own at college) AND my parents moved pretty much every year.

I currently have something like fourteen addresses listed on my bar application. TEN of those are from college—my address at school for the 9-month academic year, plus a three-month summer address at my parents’ house (and in one summer, TWO addresses from the summer; and in one academic year, TWO addresses because I was studying off campus).

As bad as all that is, at least I have all of those addresses—or can get them pretty easily. I am desperately avoiding dealing with all the employers I worked for between my 18th birthday and starting law school. There was the year I had three jobs . . . the supervisor whose name I never learned to spell . . . the supervisor whose name I don’t remember . . . the college work-study jobs . . . .

Frankly, this is going to be a disaster.

Categories: 3L, The Bar
  1. January 8, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Ooooh..I remember having to fill out those forms. Yeah, it’s a complete nightmare. I ended up having to get back in touch with a couple of ex boyfriends who were the only people who had some of that address information. Slightly awkward!

  2. LL
    January 8, 2008 at 7:43 am

    The employer stuff was awful- like you, I had a Lot of jobs and many of them involved managers who changed as often as the people who worked under them. Luckily, I called the Texas Bar office and a woman told me I could just list “manager” for some supervisor’s names, as long as I had the location and general phone number.

    It’s an insane process- and we don’t even have to be learning anything yet!

  3. January 8, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Ah, yes… fun, isn’t it?

  4. January 8, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I realized that nearly every place I worked at until about 2000 went out of business soon after. Yikes. I called the bar office and explained that I wasn’t trying to get away with anything, but that, well, I was apparently fatal to business. They were pretty understanding.

    What hacked me off, though, was trudging through all that my first year, and then having to do an update in the spring of my third year, listing practically all the same stuff again, plus anything that happened in-between.

    After filling out my bar application for a second state, I’ve decided that I’ll just become a waitress or something if I ever have to apply again.

  5. January 8, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Ugh, I am so dreading this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
