Home > 3L > who knew keeping time could be so productive?

who knew keeping time could be so productive?

October 14, 2007

Look, it’s just who I am OK?

After wondering what my billables might be if I were keeping track, I decided to, well, keep track.

First, I lucked into finding a pretty handy little time-keeper. It’s a free Mac application called Time Clock ((Oh yeah, here’s the link)) (pretty clever name, that!) and it is seriously No Frills. You can’t edit your time, it doesn’t show seconds, but it’s still damn useful. You select “Start Clock” from a handy menu bar, and it starts keeping track of your time. You select “Stop Clock” when you want to stop.

I know, I could get a stopwatch for that. The best part is that it has a “breaks” feature. You tell it how many minutes you want to go between breaks. When you have worked that many minutes, your entire screen is overlayed with yellow, and a big message appears in the middle: “Time to take a break!” If you’re not ready to stop, you just select “Postpone Break” from your menu and it goes away. You can even set how long you want that “snooze” interval to be.

I thought at first that I’d hate the yellow thing–it’s really a vile shade. But it is the BEST thing. Because it gets my attention. You can work under it with no problems; it’s a purely visual thing. But it’s there, staring you in the face the whole time: get up! get some water, go to the bathroom, stretch!

So I used my handy little Time Clock all day today. I “billed” just under 8 hours. I also made homemade chili (not from a mix—we’re talking onions, garlic, spices, stew meat, some beans (though I could have left them out), some tomato puree, some stock, and the crock pot), watched a bit of football, and took the dog on a walk. All in all, not too bad for a Sunday. I didn’t get everything done that I needed to, but I am VERY close. Frankly, I’m not even bothered that I’m not done, because I know how much I worked today. Usually I feel like I dither around too much; today I know that wasn’t the case because, even if I did dither a bit, I did so with discipline.

On deck for tomorrow: a conference call, a bit more of this journal work, some statutory research for two different projects, and hopefully another day of feeling really productive.

Categories: 3L
  1. MM
    October 15, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Do you have a link for the download of Time Clock? Sounds very useful indeed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
