Home > 3L > i see the future, and the future is grim

i see the future, and the future is grim

October 9, 2007

Oh dear God, I think I know what life as an associate at a law firm will be like. I do nothing but work. I work in front of the TV, watching the TWO shows I still insist on watching, I work on the bus to and from school, I even work (mentally) while I walk to and from the bus stop. I send email from my Blackberry while I wait for the bus. The only time I really stop working is when I sleep, shower, and eat. No, wait, I work while I eat, too.

I’ve been wondering lately what sort of time I’d clock if I were keeping track of my billables. I probably don’t want to know.

Categories: 3L
  1. October 17, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    If you’re sleeping more than four hours each night, you’re not working enough to meet BigLaw billable minimums (not the published ones–the real ones). And the thing is? It NEVER STOPS. Not on holidays, not when you’re ill, not when a relative is dying, never. No mercy, no days off. This is, by the way, why I’m getting the hell out. –Wanton Honesty

  1. October 14, 2007 at 6:30 pm
  2. October 14, 2007 at 11:21 pm
Comments are closed.
