Home > 3L, LSAT > thinking about the LSAT as a 3L? am I crazy?

thinking about the LSAT as a 3L? am I crazy?

October 4, 2007

ImNobody speaks the truth. And I’ll tell you a little secret: even missing 2 points on your LSAT doesn’t have to mean the end of the world. I had been rocking the practice tests in the weeks leading up to my LSAT and I was counting on my average test score as I entered application season. I got a score 2 points lower than my average test score. Still a good score, yes! But those 2 points had the potential to really screw up my admissions chances at a lot of schools I really wanted to get into.

I’m my situation, I managed to get into a better school than my numbers indicated was possible. But even if I hadn’t, I know that my LSAT score would not have determined my experience in law school anyway. It certainly hasn’t where I am—I am very happy with my grades, I have a position on my journal’s executive board that allows me to play to my strengths while getting some excellent experience, and I’ve taken the opportunity to work with some really amazing professors. In other words, I am the student I always knew I was capable of being, LSAT be damned.

Don’t cancel your score. See what happens. If what happens isn’t what you hoped, remember to look at the big picture. Remember that you’ll be spending three years in law school and that “fit” can be more important than the marginal gain in prestige represented by those few missed points. Once you’ve honestly looked at everything, every factor (including but not limited to prestige), if you are still not happy with your options, then you can decide to take it again. ((Caveat: If you blew the LSAT because you were seriously ill, recently experienced a death in the family or a devastating breakup, or had some other unusual extenuating circumstance, then consider cancelling. Only you can really look at your performance on the test and know if you were really at your absolute worst—and there’s not really any good reason except that you were at your absolute worst for cancelling.))

Categories: 3L, LSAT
  1. October 4, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Thanks for the words of wisdom; I’ll set up a link to this on my blog. It applies directly to one of my posts this week at http://lawschoolexpert.blogspot.com/2007/09/should-you-cancel-your-lsat-score.html

  2. October 4, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Thanks for the shout out…

    Funny how the urge to mentor the incoming LSAT-sufferers just washes over you this time of year, isn’t it?

  3. October 4, 2007 at 10:23 pm

    When I took the LSAT, we didn’t have the option of canceling! And in a way, I’m glad we didn’t..it would have driven me crazy, trying to decide. As it was, I did fine.

  4. October 5, 2007 at 8:12 am

    There’s no way you should cancel, unless you really, really bombed. Yes, the LSAT score is important, but it is not the make-or-break factor for admission to any school… If you think the only think keeping you out of the school you really want to attend is your LSAT score, I think there’s a *very* good chance you’re missing some other deficiency in your application…

  5. October 5, 2007 at 9:14 am

    Thanks for the advice… You made some really good points.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
