Home > off the beaten path > i mean, come ON

i mean, come ON

September 18, 2007

Probably the silliest thing to be bothered by in a show that seems, frankly, a little formulaic:

Why don’t any of the main characters in K-Ville have a genuine N’Orleans accent? The guy playing the police chief is at least trying, but his attempts are uneven at best. The guy who’s supposed to be the old money? Sounds like he’s from Kansas City. (I.e., no accent.)

Is the show timely? Sure, I guess. Is the style interesting and gritty? Absolutely. Could it be set in any other troubled city in the U.S.? Completely. Too bad.

Categories: off the beaten path
  1. September 18, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    You haven’t even mentioned the car chases that go turn corners and end up miles from where they were a few seconds ago. As a resident of the city the show is a little bit of a joke but I think that it at least highlights the difficulties we are still facing two years after the storm.

  2. September 18, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    Ok, this is the first I’ve heard of this show. And being from that part of the Deep South, now I won’t rest until I’ve seen it!! I’m sure I’ll be totally appalled; usually shows that purport to portray people from my part of the country fail miserably!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
