Home > food > mmm, lunch

mmm, lunch

August 27, 2007

A few weeks ago, I read an article somewhere (yes, I know this is terribly non-specific, but I really don’t remember) about cold sauces for pasta. About a month ago, I actually HAD a pasta with a cold sauce. The article made me hungry; the pasta I actually ate was one of the best dishes I’ve had in a while.

A cold pasta sauce is made by mixing ingredients together, then letting them “cook” over hot pasta. Simple, fresh ingredients are best. I made my own cold sauce today, and it was fantastic. Here’s the recipe:

1 medium tomato, very ripe and juicy, but not overripe and mealy, diced. Don’t seed the tomato first.
1 medium to large clove garlic, minced or pressed.
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil.
2 teaspoons kosher salt, or to taste.
1/3 or so cup baby spinach, torn.

Put a pot of water on to boil.

Mix the tomato and garlic with olive oil and salt. Toss with the torn spinach.

Let the sauce come together at room temperature (the salt will pull the juices from the tomato, which will mix with the olive oil, yum) while you cook your pasta. I used wide egg noodles.

Drain the pasta and immediately toss with the cold sauce.

Variations: add small cubes of fresh mozzarella to the sauce just before tossing with the pasta. Toss a little more thoroughly to allow the fat from the cheese to coat the noodles.

Categories: food
  1. August 27, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Was it at the blog 101 Cookbooks? That sounds familiar to me, but in super-great research fashion, I have not checked her archives.

  2. k
    August 27, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    I don’t read that blog, so probably not. I think it was the New York Times, but I don’t remember and I’m too lazy today to go look it up.

  3. August 27, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    I do this with basil instead of spinach. Also delicious. And great on a hot day.

  4. k
    August 27, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    I was all out of fresh basil. 🙂 Farmer’s market is tomorrow, so I think I’ll be picking up some more tomatoes (I’m thinking some nice heirlooms, mixed yellow and red), some more basil, and maybe some fresh mozzarella from the famous neighboring-state dairies. I could seriously eat this every afternoon. Except that too much raw garlic makes me feel funny, so I might switch to shallots.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
