Home > food > Sunday foodblogging of the best kind

Sunday foodblogging of the best kind

August 12, 2007

Our neighborhood has a new Whole Foods, so Mr. Angst and I decided to stroll down there this afternoon and see what special “neighborhood” stuff they have.

Never mind that the store is very spacious, that they have an in-house smoker for all kinds of yummy and different sausages, that they sell wines by the glass, or that they have a really normal floor plan/layout (more like a regular grocery store than a Whole Foods, actually). Forget all of that.

They have the best store-bought flour tortillas I’ve found in this city.

Where I’m from, flour tortillas are easy to come by, usually cheap, and almost always good, even when made in and bought from a grocery store (though the best are always purchased at a taqueria or from someone’s abuela). Here, though, I’ve had trouble finding good tortillas, outside of the Dallas-based chain Mexican restaurant we occasionally eat at. Certainly I’ve never found good tortillas at the grocery store. The best I’ve found were more like the burrito tortillas at Chipotle—serviceable, but nothing spectacular, more a medium for conveying food than a food to be enjoyed for its own flavor.

And that’s the thing. Tortillas should be enjoyed for their flavor. No, they don’t have to be made with lard (as the very best ones are), but they should at least have some texture, some savoriness, some intrinsic yum of their own, separate from whatever deliciousness goes inside them.

Mr. Angst and I have already each enjoyed a warm tortilla with butter. Tomorrow morning (his first day at his new job), I’m planning to get up, make some bacon and scrambled eggs, tossed with some cheese, and assemble the first proper breakfast tacos (or, as they are known in my hometown, taquitos ((I have never understood why anyone calls those rolled-up fried things tacquitos….I always called those flautas…))) we’ve had in this city. And I am really looking forward to it.

Categories: food
  1. PBB
    August 13, 2007 at 11:32 am

    The main difference is that flautas are (supposed to be) made with flour tortillas, and taquitos with corn tortillas. I’ve never seen a breakfast taco called a taquito- interesting. The things that Texans consider chilaquiles I consider nachos, so it’s a wild world of Mexican food items out there.

  2. k
    August 13, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    I’ve never had a flauta in Texas made with a flour tortilla.

    The great Texas hamburger chain Whataburger calls its breakfast taco offerings taquitos, but they started in my hometown, so maybe it’s just a very regional thing, because in Austin, they call breakfast tacos breakfast tacos. (But Whataburger in Austin calls them taquitos.)

    They’re all yummy, though. And ours this morning were REALLY good.

  3. Ana
    August 13, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    Same here, every flauta I’ve ever been served was made with a corn tortilla. To add my two cents to the taquito debate – I always think of them as small tacos minus the stuffing (lettuce, tomato, etc). Since they have less filling, they’re tightly rolled like a flauta, but not fried – and you can typically choose corn or flour.

  4. legallybrunette
    August 14, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Around here you can get taquitos with either corn or flour tortillas. Personally, I prefer the flour – I like the texture better.

    Darn it, now I’m getting hungry – and it’s still 2 hours to lunch.

  5. LL
    August 14, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    I’m SO excited to hear about the delicious tortillas at Whole Foods. We have one as well and I haven’t found a good tortilla since we left Texas 2 years ago. I have missed them dearly. My favorites in Texas are the fresh-made ones from HEB. I buy a pack that’s still so hot you can’t hold it, rip it open, and eat at least 4 tortillas before I’ve even gotten to the check out 🙂

  6. k
    August 14, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    YES, LL, the ones from HEB are exactly the ones I was thinking of when I mentioned grocery-store-made tortillas. I don’t know if EVERY Whole Foods has the tortillas or if it’s just because ours is near Pilsen. And I really don’t care. Because they are YUMMY.

    On another note, Mr. Angst says the coffee place in his new office building sells BREAKFAST TACOS. If you want the skinny, let me know…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
