Home > 2L: summer, just me > weekend recap

weekend recap

July 8, 2007

This weekend, Mr. Angst and I made a quick trip down the road to the Angst-in-laws’ to celebrate both his mom’s and our nephew’s birthdays. But because I had a late meeting Friday, we couldn’t leave till Saturday, which means we spent about 10 hours on the highway in the space of about 36 hours. Whee! Even better, when Mr. Angst went to pick up the rent car on Friday evening, they had no CARS left, only a MINIVAN. So we drove those 10 hours in a very ungainly, black grocery-getter. Fun!

Size and coolness factor aside, the minivan had other negative implications. Himself, who usually sits on the backseat in car trips, where he can see the scenery pass by, had to sit on the floor in his crate, because the middle seat in the minivan had bucket seats and the backseat was too small for the crate. He did not like this, not one bit, and spent the entire trip down on Saturday morning sitting up in his crate, staring at me, panting, and pressing his nose through the wires, like a little jailbird. He didn’t sleep at all. Upon arriving, he promptly peed, pooped, and vomited all over Angst-in-laws’ backyard. More fun!

The weekend got better after that, though–our two-year-old nephew is adorable, and becoming quite the chatterbox. And it was nice to get out of town for a bit, even if the temperature was 10 degrees hotter there than in Our New City. I will say, though, that I’ve never seen more people wearing Crocs than I did when we ventured out–nearly every kid I saw all weekend was wearing them, and most parents were, too. (Yes, the Angst nephew has Crocs, but he sensibly wore sneakers most of the weekend. More stable for his young legs.)

At any rate, we’re home now, and getting back into our routine. I’ve even finished my journal grading! Himself is sleeping peacefully (finally!), the air conditioning is blasting (finally!), and I’m lounging comfortably. Too bad I have to be back at work early tomorrow morning.

Categories: 2L: summer, just me
  1. dgm
    July 12, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    I’m sorry; I must register my objection to Crocs on anyone, most of all little boys. I’m sure your nephew is still really cute, though.

  2. k
    July 12, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    oh, I despise the Crocs, too. I guess i could have been a little more disparaging in tone–frankly, it’s just strange to be at a park and see all the adults AND children sauntering around in little plastic shoes. Sigh. Good old fashioned flip-flops do me just fine when I want to wear plastic shoes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
