Home > 2L: summer > summer posting policy

summer posting policy

May 10, 2007

So here’s the skinny folks.

My summer job is about to start (like, in THREE DAYS, gulp), and that means I’ll be running this blog according to the Summer Posting Policy.

What is the Summer Posting Policy?

Well, for starters, I’m not really going to say much (or anything) about my job, at least not that’s more detailed than, “Gosh, legal research can be boring!” or “I’ve done more writing this week than I’ve ever done!”

I also won’t be talking about my colleagues AT ALL, not even in the most heavily veiled, non-specific ways. That includes my fellow summer associates as well as the attorneys I will be working with.

I might sometimes mention the good food I’ve eaten. I’m kind of into food. But I won’t be blabbing about where, specifically, I’m eating. Or with whom.

OK, so that seems like I won’t have very much at all to write about! Au contraire. We will be moving, so there will be lots of posting about THAT nonsense. We still have Himself, so there will probably be more cute pictures. I still do the Law School Roundup every other week, so that’ll be here. And I will be working on journal stuff all summer, which will SURELY elicit some frustrated, groaning posts about spending the weekend in the library. I’ll hopefully have some time, also, to do some fun reading and see movies and even enjoy some of the fabulous free stuff that goes on in Our New City, so I’ll probably write about those things also.

Basically, the idea behind the Summer Posting Policy is that posts about time at my firm won’t really be all that interesting (or at least very different from posts by any other law student blogger at a law firm) and could create potential problems. So I’m going to write about more interesting things instead. I hope everyone enjoys the Summer Posting Policy.

Categories: 2L: summer
  1. May 11, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    Sounds as though we have the same Summer Posting Policy. It was my policy last year, too.

    Have fun!!

  2. May 14, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    I’m empathetic with the dilemma of what or what not to say. Kinda makes you want to start an anonymous blog just to blow off some steam…

  3. May 15, 2007 at 7:59 am

    Wise.My office fired a law clerk for violating the policy. One partner wants to address it when the student applies for Bar Admission. It’s serious. Don’t try to test your employers on this one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
