Home > 2L > exam prep

exam prep

May 5, 2007

I was up at a decent hour this morning, though not really of my own volition. Our tub was clogged up and none of my tinkering had any effect at all. ((Here’s what I usually do, and it usually works: wait till the water has drained out, scoop about 3 tablespoons of baking soda into the drain, making sure it gets all the way down into the drain, and then pour about a quart of vinegar into the drain. If the soda is well down into the drain, the vinegar will (a) carry it further down the drain while (b) fizzing like holy hell. The fizzing is what works the magic. The soda and vinegar mixture will dissolve whatever is binding the solids in the drain together and hopefully carry those solids away. After you can’t hear the fizzing in the drain anymore (about fifteen minutes) flush the drain with hot water. Repeat as necessary. Plunge if needed.)) Our landlord was great though–promised to be out between 9 and 11 this morning when I called last night. Of course, that meant I had to be up and dressed before 9.

Now I’m on my second pot of coffee (don’t worry, I shared the first with Mr. Angst), and three or four weeks into my Con Crim Pro outline. I know, that’s not all that good. But it’s going quickly. I have to say, I spent more time on my reading this semester than I have since my very first semester in law school, and it’s paying off. I have retained more so I’m relying less on my notes to construct the substance of my outline. My notes are giving me structure–what were those seven questions he posed with respect to Katz? Did we do probable cause before we discussed seizures?–but I’m largely filling in the “law” from my own head. I had the same experience with my Admin outline, actually, and walked out of the exam feeling OK about it.

Categories: 2L
  1. May 5, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    Our tub was draining slowly a few weeks ago, and getting worse. We called the landlord on Friday, but knew nothing would happen until Monday, so I took matters into my own hands. I bought a bottle of knock-off drano from the hardware store, but it disappeared down the drain with no effect. From there, I waged an escalating war, judging efficacy of drain cleaning products by the shrillness of their warning labels, working my way up to “WARNING: USE ONLY IN A VENTILATED AREA. WEAR PROTECTIVE GLOVES – CAUSES BURNS ON CONTACT.” No effect.

    So I call the management company and they send out a guy with a toolbox and a plumbing snake, who takes one look at the tub and starts laughing. “You know you guys have the drain stopper turned on, right?” He flips a lever, and it empties immediately.

  2. k
    May 5, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    FYI, Trevor, those chemicals are SO BAD for the plumbing. Really. That’s why I use the baking soda and vinegar–it won’t destroy the pipes. Not that it matters when you are a tenant, but someday you might own your own place and it’s good to know that the stuff that requires so much ventilation can wreak serious havoc on your plumbing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
