Home > 2L > deep in the middle of the exam prep period

deep in the middle of the exam prep period

April 30, 2007

It’s bad when outlining is the most fun task of the tasks on your to-do list. Some of the things on my to-do list are so boring I’d rather watch paint dry (and I could, since they’re painting something around the law school; I can smell it).

But I’m doing these things, because I have to and because, perversely, I enjoy them. Yeah, they’re boring, but I enjoy them.

In other news, my Admin outline is done, I have some killer flowcharts, and I’m going to plow through some practice exams tomorrow. Maybe I’ll do a post about how I prep for exams later this week, but for now, here’s the nutshell on what works for me–outline from your notes, pulling from other outlines as they are helpful in clarifying things you don’t understand; make flowcharts where appropriate (good for code classes and classes with lots of multi-step or multi-factor tests, like Contracts and Civil Procedure and Admin); then take as many practice exams as you can and DISCUSS them with your friends. (No need to write out a full three hour exam; I usually take half the time allotted and do a detailed outline, of the sort I’d then fill in during the exam itself.) The discussion thing is really important for me, otherwise I miss the nuance.

OK. Back to (not) watching paint dry.

Categories: 2L
