Home > 2L > somebody shoot me now

somebody shoot me now

March 14, 2007

I’m glad to see I’m not the only one whose seminar paper is not writing itself. I have been staring at my computer for so long I think I forgot what it’s like to look at things that don’t glow from behind. I have reorganized this paper at least four times, and I just sent a request to the Westlaw lab for 11 more articles that I am hoping will provide SOME support for my argument. Because I clearly didn’t do my research very well before I proposed the topic–basically all the nifty little legal doctrines that were supposed to provide a way for me to sneak my little theory in have been either (a) preempted by federal statute or (b) rejected by state courts. Waa!

I mean, don’t get me wrong–I’m writing away. I keep adding words and sentences and paragraphs, and eventually I am hoping SOMETHING will coalesce. It’s going to be a crappy first draft, that’s true, but I’ll have till the end of April, basically, to polish it up–and I’ll have feedback from someone who actually teaches in this subject to help me out. I have to keep reminding myself of that–this is an ungraded first draft, self, and it’s just a way for you to test out the idea, self, and then you can fiddle with it later, self. Do you hear me, self??

Off to pick up my printouts.

Categories: 2L
  1. March 14, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    Believe me, you are not alone. What’s worse, I took two seminars this semester. *sigh*

  2. k
    March 14, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Dave, I am actually taking two seminars also. But this one requires two drafts of the paper; the other only wants one draft. The benefit is that I’ll only be writing one paper from scratch during exams, instead of two. But it really stinks right now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
