Home > 2L, just me, tech > email woes, of a sort

email woes, of a sort

March 14, 2007

Most days, I get anywhere from 50 to 100 school-related emails, plus an additional 50 or so personal emails. Spring break, therefore, has been a very nice little rest from that. I’m getting maybe 10 or so emails a day, and most of those can go right into the trash. ((This does not count the 20 emails I got from Westlaw today, after I requested several articles be sent to me.))

I think for a long time, I lived in a world where I didn’t really use email for anything important. I worked in small offices where important things could be discussed in the break room, where urgent questions required nothing more than a walk down the hall, and where getting everyone’s opinion usually meant the boss walked into our shared office. But law is different–there are so many things I’m involved in that don’t have any centralized organization. I am sure it won’t be better in practice, either, especially not at the firm I’m going to, where matters are often staffed across offices.

So I’m trying to be better about using email efficiently, about cleaning out my inbox, about sorting things into folders and flagging important messages so they don’t get forgotten. But it’s a struggle. I can’t manage to keep fewer than 150 emails in my inbox at any given time, and right now, I have 400. (I don’t have time to sort and organize them; I’m writing a seminar paper, remember?) I’d love it if I could keep about 20 messages in the inbox, and file the others away, but if they’re not in the inbox, it’s “out of sight, out of mind.” For all that I’m a HUGE proponent of technology making my life easier and more efficient, I can’t manage to use GTD ((Getting Things Done)) software to save my life.

Categories: 2L, just me, tech
  1. March 15, 2007 at 11:28 am

    I was going to just comment, but instead I posted my email management system, if you’re interested.

  2. March 15, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Sorry, it didn’t post my url automatically: http://www.macknzie.net/blog

  3. k
    March 15, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    oops! thanks for noticing that URL problem. I fixed it now, though. commenters’ URLs will be linked to their names. Sigh. I’m ready to be done with this nonsense of tinkering!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
