Home > just me > if this is growing up, i guess it's good

if this is growing up, i guess it's good

February 28, 2007

I’ve been having these mild spells of vertigo for the last couple of days and I’m starting to wonder what’s going on with my body. I’ve been getting up pretty early this week (though, fat lot of good it did me yesterday, boo), so I’m thinking it might just be tiredness/exhaustion. But we also haven’t been eating well this week since we’re both kind of slammed, so it could be that my body is just feeling a little underfed or malnourished (malnourished in the sense of getting the proper nutrients, because goodness knows I’ve been consuming enough calories).

I’ve had brief spells of vertigo before, but usually they are very isolated incidents–so I’ll feel dizzy on and off over a period of a few hours, and it will go away and I won’t experience it again for months. This time, the dizziness is still on and off over a few hours, but then it comes back a few hours later. I’m debating being really irresponsible this evening and taking a good long nap–I can’t read anyway.

The funny thing is that when I am not feeling well, I generally don’t take care of myself–I put off taking any painkillers, I resist sleeping or eating well, and I feel guilty and angry the whole time. Right now, I feel like the best thing I can do is take a nap–and that feels like a good decision. I’m actually kind of happy about it.

Categories: just me
  1. February 28, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    I’m glad to hear you took a nap, I hope you are feeling better!

  2. LL
    February 28, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    I secretly love it when I first start feeling sick- I stop what I’m doing, stay home (yay for being a student), declare that calories do not count while you are sick, drink lots of fruity beverages (with admittedly questionable nutritional benefit), eat pizza, and watch bad tv. I “rest” and “focus on getting better”.

    And then the next day I wake up and I’m Actually sick, with all the miserable feelings that come with it and I decide that I would much rather go to class than feel that crappy.

    I hope your nap helped and you remain at the pre-sick stage!

  3. March 3, 2007 at 10:28 am

    You could be pregnant, you know. 🙂 In my first trimester, I’d get lightheaded from time to time.

    But I hope you’re OK. I have a father and good friend with Menier’s, and I sincerely hope it’s just stress/blood sugar/something else.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
