Home > 2L > i see my neat schedule falling apart into a pile of crumbled blocks

i see my neat schedule falling apart into a pile of crumbled blocks

January 24, 2007

So, yeah, this blog is just going to become really boring. I am SWAMPED this semester. Thankfully, it looks like a few of my commitments are going into dormant mode for a couple of weeks–while a couple of others go into overdrive–but there are some things I am doing this semester that seem to be constant and, worse, unpredictable. I don’t like unpredictability. I need to know, for instance, if I’ll be able to get home by a certain time on a certain day, and this semester I have at least one thing going on that is often scheduled like this:

Person: So, K, you’re going to work on this. Let’s meet this afternoon about it, OK? See you then!
Me: …but I have to get home and feed the dog…
Person: Oh, and then we’ll need to schedule another meeting on Monday, right after your class, and I don’t know how long that will take.
Me: …but I have to get home and feed the dog…

It’s amazing how much of my life is constrained by needing to get home and feed the dog. But, in fact, I have a dog, and I love my dog, and coming home to his happy wagging tail makes my day most days. Mr. Angst and I carefully crafted our schedules this term so that he is never home too long by himself, and so that neither one of us bears the burden. So if I keep getting scheduled for things without my input, things will get very messy with that carefully crafted schedule. You know?

Sigh.

Categories: 2L
  1. January 24, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    F’rills, though. Why don’t people realize that dogs? Must be walked. No, I have to go walk my dog! How would you like to hold it in for eight hours? Yeah, no.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
