Home > 2L > looking forward four months, I'm already weary

looking forward four months, I'm already weary

January 6, 2007

Duckies, I am very close to being finished with the Monster. I have a hard copy draft that I have scribbled on, and a couple of things I need to think through before I call it done, but I am On Track to turn it in Monday.

Meanwhile, interspersed with all this writing and editing, I’ve been reading for class. There’s something profoundly wrong with the law school system in this way–my last week of break has largely been subsumed by WORK. I guess I could just read for the first day and be done with it, but then I’d have to find time on Monday night to read for the second day, and the third, and so forth, and that just makes Monday even worse than Monday regularly is. I like to have my reading done before the week starts, at least for the Monday-Tuesday-Wednesday classes. And that’s a habit I’m really going to have to stick with this semester, because I’ve got a lot of stuff going on over the next four months. Like, my four substantive classes (two exams, two papers), my clinic, the class I TA for, Moot Court (potentially), the law school musical (for which I am the technical director, GASP), and, of course, being a good wife and dog-mommy to Mr. Angst and Himself.

So. This is a big, busy semester for me. I’ve got to get into buckle-down mode, and fast.

Categories: 2L
  1. January 7, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    ::phew!:: *I’m* tired just reading what all is on your plate! I did the “TA” thing along with a clinic in my last semester of law school and it was a ton o’ work! But, I had the good sense to limit my substantive classes to two (my clinic accounted for 7 hours). You’re crazy!

    Plus, my spouse didn’t need me to be a “good wife.” πŸ™‚

    Good luck!

  2. January 7, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    Hee! Denise, maybe I should have said “good partner.” πŸ™‚ The idea is that I want my relationship to continue to be healthy, even as I try to succeed at all the different things I am doing this semester. And it takes some additional concentration.

  3. January 8, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    It sure will! But, if *he’s* a “good partner”, he’ll appreciate all that and help out in the process!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
