Home > food, just me > xmas foodblogging

xmas foodblogging

December 25, 2006

The bread was a huge hit this morning–when toasted, its texture resembles an English muffin, but with better flavor and bite. My 18-month old nephew, in particular, was a huge fan, which tells me this is a recipe I really need to make again–adults and toddlers alike noshed on it all morning.

In other foodblogging news, I roasted a goose for Christmas dinner, and it turned out pretty good. Goose is tricky to make, since it’s very fatty (like duck) and the meat is very thinly stretched over the bones. The best recipes involve methods designed to render much of the fat out of the bird without the fat seeping down into the meat. I chose the less-dangerous-though-less-reliable method of pricking the skin all over–without piercing the flesh–and roating at high heat, breast down, for the first 30 minutes. (The other method requires the cook to plunge the bird into a pot of boiling water, twice–once from each end–and I just don’t think I’m tall enough or coordinated enough for that to NOT end badly.) At any rate, I spent a lot of time concerned over goose fat this afternoon. In the end, the feedback was positive, even though I thought the meat got a little overdone, so I will also call this one a success.

Merry Christmas, everyone! I hope your Christmas noshings were as good as ours, and your day a terrific one, full of family and love.

Categories: food, just me
  1. C
    December 26, 2006 at 11:21 am

    Thanks for the bread recipe – look delicious. I’ll definitely be trying it out. Geese must be the “it” thing this year – my BIL made one too. I’ll have to try it one year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
