Home > 2L > another reason 2L is so much worse than 1L

another reason 2L is so much worse than 1L

December 11, 2006

I know, I know. Blogging about studying is boring. I know! But there’s nothing else to blog about right now. Plus, blogging about studying is a good distraction from actually studying.

See, here’s the problem. I have only two exams this semester. I have ten days in which to prepare for them and take them. That, my friends, is MORE than enough time. So not only am I experiencing the classic lack of fear of the 2L, I also am experiencing the classic lack of urgency of someone who only has two exams. ((See supra; see also this; sort of this; and sort of this, too.))

Now, to be fair, I have outlined about half of both of my classes. (And by half, I mean about 1/3 of each. And by “of each” I mean, on average–four weeks of one class plus six weeks of the other equals ten weeks total, out of a combined 26 weeks of class notes. Something like that. And see? That’s WAY more than 1/3, right? Sigh.) Now I’m going to mumble some bullshit about how the first few weeks of class have the most important material, and the subsequent weeks are just nuancing those core principles. And try to convince myself that that’s true. (It might be true for one of my classes. It definitely isn’t for the other one.)

At some point in the next few days the fear will set in–not that 1L-type fear, because, hey, I’ve done this, I know how to do it, and even if I do badly, I still have a job for next summer. It will be the 2L-type fear, showing up at the predictable time–my mind will say, um, even though you have that job for the summer, you have to have a job after graduation, remember? And one of these classes isn’t curved, so you could conceivably get a really bad grade. And you only have so many hours left to outline so you can take some practice exams. And, and, and….

Until then, though, I will be struggling through this material, trying to get in to a rhthym, churning it out. God help me.

Categories: 2L
  1. December 11, 2006 at 11:50 am

    HAHA. Just wait until the 3rd year. Then you won’t bother outlining or reading throughout the semester, and you’ll wait until the day before the test before cracking the whip.

    3rd year is much much worse for motivation. Just wait!!

  2. Meg
    December 11, 2006 at 5:21 pm

    What Nerdgirl said.

    I spent approximately 20 hours over the weekend studying crim pro. This was after not having even taken the book out of my locker for the past two months.

    3L is…eh. I don’t have any motivation to finish this comment. :p

  3. December 13, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    you have no idea how happy it makes me to see you using footnotes in your blog. i use them sporadically in my own…and was needled for it by another blogger at my law school.

  4. k
    December 13, 2006 at 5:54 pm

    Um…I get needled for it. See?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
