Home > just me > ob la di, ob la dah, life really does go on

ob la di, ob la dah, life really does go on

November 30, 2006

I’m feeling old today.

I joke about my age, laugh about being older than many of my classmates (if not most of them). But I don’t generally really feel old. In fact, my brain, most of the time, seems to think I’m about 25. Which is fine with me, because 25 is a good age.

But today, I feel my age. I have some worries on my mind that seem to be the kind of worries 25 year olds don’t have. That might be a completely erroneous impression, too–I am sure plenty of 25 year olds have had these same worries I’m having. But I didn’t have them when I was 25, and none of my 25-year-old friends did, either. When we were 25.

I guess the point of this post is that every now and then something happens that makes you realize you might be older than you’d like to pretend you are. That even though you’re in school again, living that student life, the real world is still out there. And sometimes that real world knocks on your door and says, “Hey! Remember me? I’m still here, and I’m giving you something to worry about today.”

Categories: just me
  1. November 30, 2006 at 10:43 am

    Ack woman! I’m 25 and I’d appreciate it if you didn’t go around making us all feel OLD! We’re NOT!

    Heh, but as my Grandmother said to me over Thanksgiving, “Well, dear, you aren’t a spring chicken anymore.”

    My response was a panicked “AM SO! A CHICKEN! Of the SPRING!”

  2. November 30, 2006 at 9:19 pm

    To be fair, Lyco, I was pointing out that 25 isn’t old and that, usually, I feel UN-old by feeling 25. It’s just that sometimes life intervenes to point out that I am not, in fact, 25.

    You? SO a chicken of the spring. Me, though? Not so much. 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
