Home > just me > how NOT to travel after Thanksgiving Weekend

how NOT to travel after Thanksgiving Weekend

November 26, 2006

There is nothing worse than traveling with food poisoning. I woke up in the middle of the night with a sour tummy and was sick all day. Note: those bags they put on the plane? Actually useful.

So I’ve been trying to sleep it off since we got home, thanks in no small part to the Dramamine I took at the airport (twice), hoping I would just be knocked out and forget about how awful I felt. Note: Dramamine will knock you out, but only if you can keep it down.

It’s been several hours since I’ve been sick, so I think just laying in my own bed, under warm covers with the lights out was the right prescription. I haven’t, however, been able to get any work done, and I have a lot to do. I don’t think any work I did right now would be any good, though, so I’m trying not to sweat it. Hopefully I can conk out early tonight, get up at a reasonable hour, and at least do my class reading for tomorrow.

So, not the best end to my Thanskgiving vacation, though I had a lovely time otherwise. Of course, I spent much of today wondering what, exactly, made me ill and worrying that it could be a bug and not just food poisoning. With no fever, though, and no other symptoms, I’m guessing the caesar salad at last night’s dinner was the culprit, especially since my dad finished my steak but doesn’t appear to have gotten sick himself.

Blech. Back to the Gatorade.

Categories: just me
