Home > 2L, just me > Yeah, that's Thursday for you

Yeah, that's Thursday for you

November 16, 2006

I sat in the living room checking my email this morning after showering and drying my hair, when I heard a plunk plunk plunk noise from somewhere else in the apartment. I followed it to the bathroom where I discovered the ceiling above the toilet had sprung a leak. Plunk plunk plunk. With every drip, rust-colored water splattered on the toilet seat and from thence onto the floor. And onto the shelf where I keep my hairbrushes and bottles of hair product and lotion. Plunk plunk plunk. The crack in the ceiling that’s been above the toilet since we moved in was starting to look distinctly saggier, and the drip was making a beeline to where my head would be were I using the facilities.

Not an auspicious beginning to my day.

Meanwhile, my right wrist and thumb have developed a distinct ache that occassionally morphs into a shooting pain. I’ve been massaging it all day and spent an hour tonight icing it in fifteen minute increments. I suspect my stubborn resistance to ever properly learning to type has something to do with this, as does my relentless use of the touchpad and clicker instead of my external mouse.

The day, my friends was not getting better.

Thankfully, the drip was repaired with little fanfare–our upstairs neighbors simply needed a new wax ring under their commode. The thumb will prove a little trickier, since I still have at least eight pages to write this weekend–and probably closer to fifteen, if I’m honest about how much more I need to actually write to complete the damn paper. But by Thanksgiving I hope to be able to rest and recuperate. And enjoy being with family and eating turkey, of course. Gotta have that thumb back in fighting condition before exams, after all.

And that’s the end of the day. Thank god.

Categories: 2L, just me
  1. Kevin
    November 17, 2006 at 10:33 am

    A new wax ring fixed the drip? Does that mean that it was toilet “flushings” that were leaking through the ceiling?

  2. November 17, 2006 at 10:53 am

    No, definitely NOT the toilet flushings. Just pipe water. Rusty colored but without smell, so definitely not flushings.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
