Home > 2L > it's back to being up in the middle of the night

it's back to being up in the middle of the night

November 10, 2006

After tossing and turning for an hour, my mind racing and spinning, I decided to get up and quiet my brain by doing some work. I opened my laptop, pulled up my comment draft, and stared at it.

And then I started working. I refined a few things, I tweaked some others. I looked up something online so I could make sure the language I was using was correct. I reread one of my core arguments, one that I worked on this morning, and confirmed that I was on the right track with it. I scanned through the sections that need fleshing out, making mental notes and a few textual notes, but basically feeling I had everything in place.

And then I looked at my page count.

I short of my page limit by one-third.

I’m not sure what I have left to do will take that many pages.

This is no longer a matter of getting the writing done–given my current organization, I can draft the remainder of this thing pretty quickly. I just don’t know that it’s going to take twenty pages to do it.

I can’t decide if this is because my argument is a lot narrower than I thought it would be or if it’s because I’m making some logical leaps that aren’t apparent to me. I’d like to avoid unncessary background, so I’ve made that section pretty short and to-the-point. Maybe I need to fill in some details. Maybe, instead of describing a piece of representative legislation, I need to outline every piece of substantive legislation in this area. While that would certainly fill in the pages, I can’t say I think it would make my paper better.

The one benefit of getting up in the middle of the night tonight is that I’ve actually looked at this thing with eyes for the large-scale organization, and I see now what’s going on. That’s good. It means I’m likely to be able to go back to sleep, at least tonight. I just wish I knew what was going to happen in the next week and a half.

Categories: 2L
  1. November 10, 2006 at 8:42 am

    The thing about footnotes is that they swallow up a lot of pages.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
