Home > food > random complaints

random complaints

September 16, 2006

Mr. Angst and I went out for a nice dinner last night, since we hadn’t celebrated my birthday–and it was our nanniversary, too. So we went to a moderately priced restaurant we like, that has good food, good wine, and good service.

And it was a disaster. Our waiter ignored us most of the night. It took me ten minutes to ASK FOR a second glass of wine. TEN MINUTES! Then the waiter picked up my empty glass, took it with him, stood at another table and explained the ENTIRE menu to them, before coming back by to clarify exactly what I wanted. By the time my wine came around, our food had already arrived, and I had only ordered it because I wanted wine with my food.

Also, Mr. Angst’s steak came out overcooked and when he pointed it out to the waiter, the waiter came back and said, “The kitchen says this was medium rare, so next time, try to order it ‘rare to medium rare’ to get what you want.” Mr. Angst replied, “That is EXACTLY how I DID order it.” The waiter says, “Oh, well, maybe I wrote it down wrong.” In other words, he ARGUED with Mr. Angst over whether or not his steak was made the way it was ordered. That is NOT COOL.

All the while, I was watching another table in our waiter’s section, where a couple had had their plates cleared, their leftovers boxed up, and were just sitting there, waiting for someone to bring by the dessert tray so they could say no, ask for their check, and leave. And I wondered what the hell was going on with our waiter. He was just plain awful.

So this morning I’m a little annoyed that we spent all that money on an evening that was not very enjoyable. Usually we have very good waistaff there–people who will chat with us, recommend wines or specials, or tell us about off-the-menu options. Last night was all the more disappointing in comparison to our previous experiences.

I’m sure we’ll go back sometime, but I don’t think it will be anytime soon. And that’s too bad, because I like their food.

Categories: food
  1. September 16, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    Happy anniversary (in spite of the “waiter-who-ruined-the-romantic-moment”).

  2. September 16, 2006 at 8:03 pm

    Happy anniversary, and please warn me about the restaurant! Those crummy experiences are SO disappointing. 😦

  3. Jean
    September 17, 2006 at 7:15 am

    Sorry about your experience! We’ve found that writing letters when we get bad service has resulted in gift certificates to the restaurant. (We’re talking about really bad service, like you received, not just had to wait a few minutes for a refill on a drink.)

  4. Kevin
    September 21, 2006 at 2:00 pm

    Call the restaurant and speak to the manager. Make sure you mention that you’ve eaten there several times previously and that it is very unlikely that you’ll be back. You should get a free dinner out of it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
