Home > 2L: job search, just me > life is full of options

life is full of options

September 14, 2006

Choices are good. Everyone says so.

I, however, am the kind of person who prefers NOT to have choices. I’ve mentioned this before, but I only applied to three colleges (four if you count the college that lost my application), and I only applied to five law schools (four if you consider that one was a school I was almost positive I wouldn’t end up at, for geographic reasons).

That’s how I roll, you know. Limited choices work well for me. I think this is because I don’t like having regrets. And I usually find that when you have lots of options, at least two or three of them will be really good options, and hard to distinguish from each other. In other words, lots of options = greater chance of regrets.

In other words, I have some choices now, and I would almost rather not. The options are terrific, and choosing between them will not be easy. And I don’t want to make a choice. For now, at least, I can put it off. Maybe some new information will come along and make the choice easier for me. Or maybe the options will get more difficult.

Categories: 2L: job search, just me
  1. September 14, 2006 at 11:12 pm

    Congrats!! Having some choices is a good thing, especially now. Good luck with making the decision.

  2. September 15, 2006 at 9:26 am

    Choices are a great thing K, but they do have the distinct disadvantage that if you make the less best one, you’ve only got yourself to blame if you don’t like it. That’s why my husband leaves all of the choice-making up to me in our relationship.

    Celebrate being able to make choices. Embrace it. It’s kind of a rush.

  3. September 18, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    Choices can be beautiful! I always tell myself that I will unwaveringly make the best one. . . that alleviats some of the angst.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
