Home > in the \'sphere, of note > Milbarge asked, I comply

Milbarge asked, I comply

August 9, 2006

Hef more significant than Castro? I’d have to agree. For one thing, I bet more American men would recognize Hef from his picture than would recognize Castro. (I won’t go so far as to say they wouldn’t know who Castro was, if only because of the embargo on Cubanos, but it’s entirely possible most young American men wouldn’t know who Castro was.) For another, um, sex! A decaying communist regime might be interesting to some folks, but sex is interesting to almost all folks.

That being said, I’ll note that Playboy, as a “sex” publication, is pretty outdated. I know their circulation numbers are down, and I know they have a hard time attracting that golden demographic, the 18-24 year-old set. Maybe it’s because Playboy actually has good-quality journalism. It’s not always stuff I agree with, but it’s at least well-written. In some ways, Playboy is like Vanity Fair, but with naked ladies. There’s always a celebrity interview, to bring in the casual reader, a selection of political articles, and fiction. If Dominick Dunne wrote for Playboy, there would be NO difference between the two (except, again, naked ladies).

So, yes, Milbarge, Hef is more significant than Castro. But maybe he shouldn’t be.

Categories: in the \'sphere, of note
  1. August 9, 2006 at 9:42 am

    The same naked lady… over and over and over and over. Playboy is getting kicked by publications like Maxim, FHM, etc. because they tenaciously cling to the “image” of manufactured beauty Hef locked into before he stopped running the magazine. If you look at vintage Playboy’s there was still some great journalism, but a variety in the models that is long, long gone.

    I’ll stick with VF.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
