Home > food > oh my god so good mmmmm

oh my god so good mmmmm

July 16, 2006

With last week’s Peapod order, I got some on-sale chicken breasts. When they arrived, though, I was dismayed to find they were bone-in, skin-on–and HUGE. I’m not used to cooking anything like that, so I dithered over how to fix them.

Tonight, I gave it a whirl. I used a Cook’s Illustrated method for pan-roasting them and then made up a pan sauce, since I didn’t have any of the stuff to make any of Cook’s pan sauces. The result was so tasty, this one is going in the weekly (or near-weekly) repertoire.

Pan-Roasted Chicken Breasts with Honey-Lemon Pan Sauce

2 whole, bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts (I actually made three)
Salt and pepper
1 tablespoon vegetable or canola oil
1-2 tablespoons finely minced onion
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
2-3 tablespoons honey
1/2 teaspoon each dried thyme and oregao
1 dried bay leaf
2 tablespoons butter

Preheat oven to 450°. Season chicken breasts on both sides with salt and pepper. (If you have time, you can brine them, but I didn’t bother with that step and the chicken didn’t seem to suffer for it.) Heat oil in a 12-inch oven-proof skillet or pan until almost smoking. Place chicken breasts in pan, skin-side down. Cook till golden brown, about 5 minutes. Turn and cook the other side till golden, about 3 minutes. Turn chicken over again, skin-side down, and place in oven. Cook until a thermometer stuck into the thickest part of the breast registers 160°, about 15 minutes. Transfer chicken to a platter and cover with aluminum foil to rest while you make the pan sauce.

Take the skillet and, using an oven mitt to protect your hand!, place over medium-high heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook until just tender, about 3 minutes. Add lemon juice and white wine vinegar, and scrape the bottom of the pan to deglaze. Add honey and stir in well. Add spices. Cook about 5 minutes until reduced and slightly thickened. Whisk in butter to finish.

Serve chicken topped with sauce. YUM.

Categories: food
  1. July 16, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    that made me soooo hungry

  2. July 17, 2006 at 9:01 am

    Ditto! My stomach is growling! I’m putting it in the recipe file…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
