Home > just me > we can do ANYTHING online now

we can do ANYTHING online now

July 11, 2006

I just placed my first Peapod order.

I LIKE it!

First, I can shop with an eye to menu-planning, rather than going to the grocery store and trying to remember recipes and making sure I get everything I need to cook for three or four meals. Second, it’s easier to buy sale items and see how much of a difference they make on the bottom line. Finally, I don’t have to walk 3/4 of a mile in the rain to get groceries, wasting OODLES of time. BIG PLUSSES ALL AROUND.

We’ll see how I like the produce and meat. If it’s no good, I’ll do that shopping near school or near a train stop, and just walk it home in a bag. But I somehow doubt I’m ever buying milk, bottles of oil, laundry detergent (or any kind of detergent) or any paper products in a store again–at least not here!

Super duper fun. I LOVE shopping online.

Categories: just me
  1. July 11, 2006 at 9:19 pm

    We used Peapod in DC and mostly loved it. I always felt like we were getting a bit taken on the prices, though. Sure, you can see what’s on sale and what you’re saving, but you have to realize that they’re only offering you a limited selection of their inventory. Example: You want mustard. They offer on Peapod Premium Brand 1, 2, and 3, and maybe a store brand. You go to the store and they offer all that, plus five other choices in varying price ranges. So if they decide not to offer you the cheapest brand they sell, you’ll still be paying more than you would at the store. But yeah, that’s the price of the convenience and I’m sure the premium is not that high.

    Ah, the city life….

  2. July 11, 2006 at 9:22 pm

    Yeah, to be fair, I have some brand loyalty–for bread, dishwashing detergent, tomatoes. So buying from Peapod is no hardship as far as those things go.

    For produce and meat, yeah, the prices are a bit high. For this week, though, it’s totally worth it.

  3. July 11, 2006 at 11:06 pm

    For most things, I think they are fine. I used to use Peapod for staples quite a bit. But I’ve always found better produce and meat locally. You still can’t beat having your groceries brought to you though… awesome!

  4. July 12, 2006 at 10:38 am

    I’ve been very, very happy with it — and I’m pretty hard to please. The produce is MUCH better than anything I can get in this neighborhood, and the meat is good, if expensive. (And they sell the kosher chicken that Cook’s Illustrated recommends!) Plus they bring it to me — no parking hassles, no toting of groceries, definitely worth a slightly higher price overall. And they take coupons. Not that I ever remember them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
