Home > 1L: summer > summer scheduling sucks

summer scheduling sucks

June 25, 2006

Somehow, I thought I’d have more time this summer. I thought that, since I can do my work whenever (and mostly whereever) I want, I’d go to the pool more frequently, or be more productive at home with the packing, or just spend more time doing things.

What I have discovered is that I am not a person who really does things. I need a motivator to do something. Last night, Mr. Angst and I did something–we went out, in other words–but that’s not the sort of thing I’m talking about. No, I’m more talking about getting out of bed and deciding to pack a box–because I can!–or putting on my sneakers and going for a run. What do I do instead? I pick up my computer, and stare at it for hours at a time.

I don’t want to suggest that law school turned me into a couch potato, or a computer-head. I really was those things before. But law school has not really forced me to NOT be a couch potato or a computer-head. My work is almost all on the computer. I read the news on the computer. I look for a Thai place that has kao soy on the menu on the computer. I don’t have much impetus to get up off my butt.

This week, my goal is to spend less time on the computer. If I am at home and TV sucks and I am bored, I will pack boxes. If I am at school, on the clock, I will waste less time checking my email and reading blogs. That will give me more time to go to the pool if I want, to take a walk, to put on my sneakers and go running.

I don’t like not having a routine, and I am not good at disciplining myself into a routine. But I’m going to step up my efforts this week.

Categories: 1L: summer
  1. June 25, 2006 at 2:38 pm

    My twin!

    (I do find I tend to get things done in streaks. I’ll have a great feat of productivity and knock off a whole bunch of things, but it’s not sustainable for too long. It is possible that the time spent vegging in front of the computer is necessary recharge time, but it’s hard to recharge well while you’re feeling guilty about all the things you are not getting done at that moment.)

  2. June 25, 2006 at 4:26 pm

    Oh, Cathy, you hit the nail RIGHT on the head. Sometimes, I just go ape-poo and clean in a great frenzy, for instance. I think right now, the problem is that the things that need doing are not single-shot projects. Packing, for instance, is a great task that cannot get done in a couple of hours.

  3. PG
    July 3, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    This post is my life. Result of all the couch potato-ness added to lots of rich meals and snacks, and driving places instead of walking: 7 lbs. gained in six weeks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
