Home > just me > the dogs need some grooming

the dogs need some grooming

June 21, 2006

So, it’s officially summer today, and that means I should probably start doing something about my feet.

In summer, I wear sandals all the time. Flip flops, slides, and dressy, strappy sandals. Open-toed shoes. Never hose. It makes my feet happy to be in the sun. But it does not make my feet pretty. I have old blisters, dry heels, cracking toenails. My feet look like complete CRAP. This does not mean I am going to stop wearing sandals, of course, so I need to make them look less gross. One way to do this is to slather lotion on them before bed, and then sleep in socks. This is, actually, a good method. It moisturizes the feet and keeps my footskin soft.

But I hate wearing socks in bed. I also hate the feeling of excess lotion on my feet–and excess is really required when you use the socks, since the socks will always absorb some of the moisture of the lotion. So the one home method that works is the one I am most averse to. I could also go get a pedicure, but I’m cheap, and with all the walking and sandal-wearing I do, whatever good that did would wear off in, oh, about two days.

So I’m hating my ugly feet right now, but not enough to do what I need to.

Categories: just me
  1. June 22, 2006 at 10:39 am

    The lotion and socks at night does work well to make your feet softer. I run a lot and have to do the same thing to my feet if I want to wear sandals. And when I was a pole vaulter, with caloused hands, I had to put lotion on my hands at night and sometimes even wear gloves. Pretty nerdy huh!

  2. Kevin
    June 22, 2006 at 11:03 am

    Go get a damned pedicure! Let them do the bulk of the work – you can do lotion every couple of days and maintain what they’re able to achieve. There is no excuse for ugly feet! Nasty!

  3. LawMom
    June 22, 2006 at 7:34 pm

    Kristine, you need to run right over to The Body Shop and invest in their foot care line. I’d suggest starting out with a foot bath using the peppermint foot soak crystals. (I use a cheap plastic square dish pan from Wal-Mart.) Get one of their foot files (the one with the white plastic handle and the gray pumice on one side, pink on the other) and use that in conjunction with their peppermint foot scrub after the soak. (This is the BEST stuff!) Then use their foot mask for the recommended time. (Which is 10 or 15 minutes, I think.) When you’re all done, slather on their peppermint foot lotion. It only takes about 30 minutes, max, and your feet will look and feel like you just had a pedicure. All of that stuff will cost you about the same as a professional pedicure and will last for along time. And it smells great! 🙂 Seriously, you will totally thank me for this advice.

    And actually, I think they have all of these items in small sizes, so you could get those first to try it out.

  4. PG
    July 3, 2006 at 12:14 pm

    My summer employer frowns on our feet being visible, so I haven’t had to worry about this yet. But the firm-wide retreat is in LA in a couple of weeks, and I’m pretty sure open toed shoes and sandals will be appropriate, if not de rigueur, there. Must schedule a pedicure… and a haircut… and some shopping… oh, WHY do we have to go someplace cool and trendy?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
