Home > food > Tartlet. Tartlet. Tartlet. The word has lost all meaning.

Tartlet. Tartlet. Tartlet. The word has lost all meaning.

June 19, 2006

This is one of my favorite appetizers to make. It’s a caprese tart(let).

First, make a pastry shell. (You can use a store bought pastry shell if you want, but don’t get the stuff already in the pan, please. Those are usually sweet, and you need something that will be OK for a savory tart.) My recipe is easy enough, especially if you have a food processor.

1 cup all-purpose flour (though I used cake flour for this one and it was SUPER flaky. Hard to handle the dough, though, because it was so soft.)
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
6 tbsp cold butter, cut into pieces
1 large egg
1 egg yolk

Put the dry ingredients in your food processor and pulse to mix. Add the cold butter and pulse in 1-second bursts (about 10 or 15 pulses) until the mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Add the egg, and pulse to incorporate. Add the yolk and pulse until the mixture forms a ball. Pull from the bowl of the processor, and form into a disk. Wrap the disk in plastic wrap and let it rest in the refrigerator for at least an hour and up to two days.

When you are ready to make your pastry, remove it from the fridge and roll out on a floured surface. Shoot for a uniform 1/8-inch thickness.

Roll the pastry up on your rolling pin and then unroll over a 9- or 10-inch tart pan. Press the pastry into the sides of the pan, and trim the edges.

While your pastry dough rests, you can prepare the fixins. For this go around, I used a fresh tomato from the farmer’s market, but good plum tomatoes from the grocery work well, too, as long as they are GOOD, and not mealy. I used about six leaves of fresh basil, and two golf-ball sized balls of fresh mozzarella. I also used a very slight sprinkling of shredded mozzarella when I assembled the whole thing, just for “glue.”

So, to assemble, spread the shredded mozzarella (a scant quarter cup, if that much) on the bottom of the pastry. Then spread the tomatoes on top. Add the mozzarella slices in the empty spaces around the tomatoes. I try to avoid putting the cheese on top of the tomato. Scatter the basil (cut chiffonade style) over the top. A few turns of fresh pepper, a pinch of salt, and a drizzle of olive oil finishes it off.

Heat the oven to 400° and bake for about 25 minutes. Cool on a rack for at least 10 minutes before cutting into it, and enjoy!

Categories: food
  1. June 19, 2006 at 10:28 am

    Oh yeeees….mmmm.

  2. June 19, 2006 at 11:32 am

    Mmmmm…looks totally fab. Do you have a recommendation for a food processor? I have an ancient (at LEAST 20 years old) Cuisinart which I’m rapidly beginning to hate. I pulled it out of my dad’s stuff last year thinking that someone ought to use it – but it’s just such a pain.

    Of course, I have to get new cookware, a stand mixer and a good espresso machine first…so take your time answering!

  3. June 19, 2006 at 11:42 am

    LQ, I recommend the KitchenAid 12-cup food processor. Cook’s Illustrated also recommends it, and you can find them on sale pretty often. I got mine on sale, and had one of those 20% coupons from Bed Bath and Beyond, so it was really reasonable. Came with three disk blades, a dough blade, and a smaller bowl with blade that sets into the big bowl for small jobs. And it has a handy box for storing all the other blades and stuff. I LOVE IT.

    That being said, I used to have an ancient GE food processor that I bought at Goodwill for $15. It worked JUST FINE for pastry and sauces. (I did have a $50 Black and Decker after that, but pastry killed it.)

  4. June 19, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Your foodblogging is making me crave all kinds of yummy foods that I’m not allowed on my diet. Stop it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks delish though!

  5. June 20, 2006 at 10:11 am

    Loving the Friends quote that you used for this post. Another favorite from that episode: “Macaroni and Cheese! We gotta make this!”

    I’ll have to try the recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. June 21, 2006 at 2:49 pm

    mmhmmm….looks like delicious delicious super-fab pizza ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
