Home > in the \'sphere > Let's all go to the movies, let's all go to the movies…

Let's all go to the movies, let's all go to the movies…

June 17, 2006

LQ tagged me with the movie meme. The rules are as follows:

A. Pick 11 of your favorite movies.
B. Then pick one of your favorite quotes from each movie.
C. Post the quotes on your blog.
D. Have commenters guess what the movie is.
E. Either strike out the quote once it has been correctly identified or place the guesser’s user name directly after the quote.
F. Extra points for knowing the actor or character’s name.

Here are mine! Guess away! And no cheating with Google!

Movie #1:

And from now on, stop playing with yourself.

Dave!, of Preaching to the Perverted totally nailed this one. I don’t know the actor’s name, either, but this is from Real Genius, when Mitch is talking to Kent through the implant in his mouth, and Kent thinks it’s Jesus. The best part is that, right after Mitch says this, Kent’s response is, “It IS God!” Classic.

Movie #2:

Waitress: What do you want in your omelette, sir?
Man : Nothing in the omelette, nothing at all.
Waitress: Well, that’s not technically an omelette.

Stare Decisis correctly identified this as John Cusak as Martin Blank in Grosse Pointe Blanke.

Movie #3:

Do I have a nightgown on? No, I don’t. Would you mind turning around for a second? Oh, never mind, it’s such a corny line anyway. I’ll turn around myself.

Joey at Yayarolly goes to law school got this one: Holly Golightly (Audrey Hepburn) says this in Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Movie #4:

She is starting to damage my calm.

kmsqrd of Quo Vado? got this one: it’s Jayne Cobb (Adam Baldwin) in Serenity.

Movie #5:

Baby, I am not from Havana!

Dave! got this one, too–finally! It’s from Blazing Saddles, spoken by Bart to Lili Von Shtupp.

Movie #6:

Once it hits your lips! It’s so good!

Peanut Butter Burrito knows that this is from Old School–Will Ferrell as Frank the Tank.

Movie #7:

I am a choreographer. That’s what I do. You are cheerleaders. Cheerleaders are dancers who have gone retarded. What you do is a tiny, pathetic subset of dancing. I will attempt to turn your robotic routines into poetry, written with the human body. Follow me, or perish, sweater monkeys.

Jeanne from My So-Called Internet Life knew this: it’s from Bring it On. The speaker, by the way, is the irrepressible “Sparky.” I don’t know the actor’s name.

Movie #8:

Fester, fester, fester. Rot, rot, rot.

The Namby Pamby knew that this was from French Kiss. Meg Ryan’s character Kate says this to Kevin Kline’s Luc.

Movie #9:

Don’t tell the elf.

Dan at Last Moderate Republican correctly identified this as Gimli (John Rhys-Davies) in The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers. And it is high comedy.

Movie #10:

Wasn’t there anyone else there to lavish you with attention?

Janine from Very Unnecessary knew that this is from Lost in Translation; Bill Murray’s Bob Harris says it to Scarlett Johannsen’s Charlotte.

Movie #11:

I am FILLED with Christ’s love!

Q from Passionate Discourse got this one: Mandy Moore as Hilary Faye in Saved!

And, in grand meme tradition, I get to pass it on. Cella and Randolph Jurisprudence have had so much fun with music lately, let’s see what they do with movies. And Citations should have to do it, too, since she’s [finally!] done with school.

Categories: in the \'sphere
  1. June 18, 2006 at 12:57 am

    #2 is John Cusack in Grosse Pointe Blank. The perfect movie to watch before going to your own high school reunion.

  2. Q
    June 18, 2006 at 1:09 am

    11 is from Saved! Mandy Moore as Hillary Fay. Who can forget a name like that? I love that movie. Nothing like growing up in the Bible belt to turn you bitter.

  3. June 18, 2006 at 8:36 am

    #7 is from Bring It On. I love that movie.

  4. PBB
    June 18, 2006 at 9:08 am

    #6 is from Old School, of course!

  5. Dan
    June 18, 2006 at 10:48 am

    #9 is Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, when Aragorn has to throw Gimli because he can’t jump that far. High comedy 🙂

  6. June 18, 2006 at 11:08 am

    Number 1 has to be from Real Genius, where Mitch is talking to Kent through the implant in his mouth (and Kent thinks it’s Jesus). I don’t know the name of the actor, though.

  7. June 18, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    I am ashamed that I know that #8 is from French Kiss

  8. June 18, 2006 at 1:15 pm

    #10 is Bill Murray in Lost In Translation. (PS: Bring It On = best movie evah!)

  9. June 18, 2006 at 2:56 pm

    #3 is from breakfast at tiffanys. love that movie.

  10. June 18, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    #4 is from Serenity – Jayne say’s it to the whole group about River’s behavior.

  11. June 18, 2006 at 8:08 pm

    Numero 3 is Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Audrey Hepburn as Holly Golightly. All the other ones I know are already guessed. Damn.

  12. June 18, 2006 at 8:12 pm

    Whoops, dur. I refreshed to make sure no one had posted, but apparently, that did not work. I am not good with t’internet and should not be allowed to use it.

  13. June 19, 2006 at 10:15 am

    Excuse me while I whip this out:

    Number five is Blazing Saddles.

    I didn’t want to be a quote hog, I figured many people would get this one, but since no one else posted…

  14. June 19, 2006 at 8:06 pm

    I suck at this game. I didn’t know a single one, and I’ve actually seen like 3 of the movies. Mine should be up soon. I’m still trying to think of 11 movies.

    There seems to be a John Cusack theme, though. Maybe I can work that in.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
