Home > just me > i worried, there in the middle of it, but it all worked out

i worried, there in the middle of it, but it all worked out

June 9, 2006

I got my hair cut today.

OK, yeah, I got all of them cut. Ha ha.

Because I am a poor law student whose entire summer pay will be funding our move, I went to a place where students cut the hair. (I’ve been there for color before, but never for a cut.) It’s not really a “Beauty College”–it’s a little higher end than that label would suggest–but my stylist was still a student.

And she screwed up.

Thankfully, she only screwed up on one small piece of hair. But it was sort of a doozy of a screw-up. One of my layers, right in the middle of the back of my head, was about 3/4 of an inch shorter than the layers around it. I guess she did a “square cut” layer for that one piece, and “round-cut” layers for the rest. I don’t know what any of that means, but I was listening as she tried to explain to the instructor what she’d done to make this mess of the back of my head.

And thank goodness for the instructors! First, one came by and fixed the bad layer (HALLELUJAH). Then another came by after I was blow-dryed and styled and blended everything together. I ended up with a cut that is pretty much what I wanted, if a little shorter in the back of the crown than I wanted.

The whole experience was a little unnerving, but I’m really OK with the whole thing. First, I have at least two months to grow out anything before interviews. Also, I like myself with short hair (as I kept telling the poor girl, as she got more and more nervous). Finally, I still paid less than I’d pay for a haircut in almost any other salon, and that’s counting the products I bought and a tip. (Yes, of course I tipped her. She worked hard and had a good sense of what I wanted, even if her execution wasn’t perfect. That’s why she’s a student, so she can learn.) Sure, it’s not the most polished cut I’ve ever had, but it’s pretty versatile and it’s flattering.

Categories: just me
  1. June 10, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    Ack, this post made me queasy.

    I understand because I recently had the same thing happen. I’m also a short haired gal and like it that way. But that means that hair cuts a dubiously more crucial.

    Glad it worked out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
