Home > 1L > grades

grades

May 31, 2006

The thing about law school that sucks is grades. Curved grades. Ours came out today. I did fine, objectively speaking. I did not do as well as last semester, though, and I worry about what that means. Did I get complacent? Did I change the way I studied, to my detriment? (In at least one respect, I think I did.) Or was my performance nothing more than a reflection of the professors and classmates I had this semester?

It’s hard to know. Last semester, none of my grades surprised me. I honestly felt I had earned each of them. This semester, I feel that bafflement that people often talk about with law school grades–the sense that, surely, they must be arbitrary? I have no idea why two of my grades came out as they did. (The other three seemed pretty spot-on, though I still have a vague sense of arbitrariness with two of them.)

‘Tis better to know than not know, I suppose. And I don’t think my grades change anything. I think only a stunning change–positive or negative–would have had any sort of impact on anything grades-dependant. But my pride is a little wounded. I thought I had this thing figured out, and it turns out, I don’t. Or at least not as well as I thought I did.

Categories: 1L
  1. May 31, 2006 at 5:13 pm

    grades are totally overrated. i stopped worrying about them five minutes ago. no looking back!

    look at the bright side, now that you have received them, you are officially, totally, and completely done with 1L. It’s all coasting from there 😉

  2. May 31, 2006 at 5:43 pm

    Don’t let grades define your self-worth as a law student. In many ways, grades are not a measure of competence. Look who is on Law Review — are they necessarily the smartest people in law school? Absolutely not. It’s just that they’ve figured out how to take law school exams. Sure, grades play a role in determining your future, but they don’t predict future success or failure as a lawyer. Well, that’s what I’ve learned in two years of law school, anyway…

  3. PBB
    May 31, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    How the F do you have them already? I am so impressed with your school. I figure that after my boring and unpredictable 1st semester my sense of self-worth can only get better on the issue.

  4. May 31, 2006 at 9:35 pm

    Well, PBB, we were done with classes at least two weeks before you were.

  5. June 1, 2006 at 10:47 am

    Honey, don’t sweat it really. Sometimes it is a crap shoot. I don’t know if you can see a pattern to it. For me, classes with multi-choice are guaranteed losers. I do better on 4 hour exams than 8 hour exams. And paper classes, well I do well in the classes I’m interested in and not in the ones that I am not.

    Just breathe. Put it away and move on. You rock in my book.

  6. June 2, 2006 at 4:10 pm

    I am shocked that you have grades already. On the other hand, we got our legal research and writing grade. For some reason they decided to post it as we’re in the midst of finals.

    Ah well, grades are just one of the more surreal aspects of a very strange experience.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
