Home > food > Sunday breadblogging

Sunday breadblogging

May 28, 2006

Here’s the rest of the brioche adventure.

I didn’t take any pictures of the first, overwhelmingly large, rise. So these photos start with the punching down after the brioche had risen in the fridge for an hour. (So, first rise, punch down, second rise in the fridge, punch down/knead.)


As you can see, the dough is REALLY sticky.

Once I got the dough into a rough ball, I covered it with plastic wrap–tightly!–and set it in the fridge overnight. This morning, I pulled it out to find that, while it hadn’t risen much, it was a lot firmer, and easier to work with. So I kneaded it a little more (just a little!), used a dough scraper to chop it into four pieces, and rolled those into balls. All the recipes say to work quickly at this stage, and they were right. Working quickly, the dough was easy to form. But if I slowed down at all, it got sticky again.

I placed the balls into a greased loaf pan, and let it proof (rise some more). When that was done, I brushed the top with egg wash.


Ready to go in the oven!

Halfway through the baking, I rotated the loaf and brushed on some more egg wash.

Once it was finished baking (the sides of the loaf were golden, and the top gave a hollow sound when tapped), I pulled it out of the loaf pan and set it to cool on a wire rack.

I sliced into it, to see how the crumb turned out–and it’s BEAUTIFUL.

Now I’m off to make French toast!

Categories: food
  1. May 28, 2006 at 12:01 pm

    Wow! BeeYoooTiFul! It makes me hungry just looking at it! I’ll have to try that sometime…after the bar.

    I’ll be looking forward to the Round-up at your place. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
