Home > in the \'sphere > My list o' Threes

My list o' Threes

May 28, 2006

Randolph Jurisprudence and Cella Bella posted their third-track playlists earlier this weekend, and invited me to join in. So here’s mine. I’m not entirely happy with it, but I’m posting it anyway, because I think it says a lot about the way I buy and listen to music.

First, the rules required that the song be the third track on the original album–so no compilations, best-ofs, or soundtracks. But all I have are compilations, best-ofs, and soundtracks. Or individual songs purchased individually. As it turns out, the Belle & Sebastian song below is one such, that just happens to be the third track on its album. But I don’t own the album, just the song.

Think about what this means for music! The fact is, most of the songs on my playlist are from albums I’ve owned for no less than five years. (Aimee Mann is one exception, but I only have her music because someone gave it to me a year or so ago. I would have been more likely to buy single tracks than the entire albums. The Dixie Chicks are another exception, but Home is just an exceptional album, in my opinion.) The reason it’s so short, too, is that, of the complete albums I own, these are really the only nine songs I like enough, and that “fit” well enough to make a cohesive playlist. I suppose I could have thrown in some of the experimental instrumental music I have–or some of the English choral music I have–but I’m not sure the first would fit in any playlist, and I don’t know if songs from the latter would fulfill the “original album” requirement.

So here’s my Track Three playlist. I don’t like it. It’s too flat, too boring. But it has its own message. Hopefully that message doesn’t also include a postscript about how crappy my taste in music is.

  1. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds, The Beatles (Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band)
  2. Red Vines, Aimee Mann (Bachelor No. 2)
  3. Please Do Not Go, Violent Femmes (Violent Femmes)
  4. Travelin’ Soldier, Dixie Chicks (Home)
  5. Weather, Jackopierce (Bringing On The Weather)
  6. Perfect World, Liz Phair (Whitechocolatespaceegg)
  7. Lost In Space, Aimee Mann (Lost in Space)
  8. If She Wants Me, Belle & Sebastian (Dear Catastrophe Waitress)
  9. With Or Without You, U2 (Joshua Tree)
Categories: in the \'sphere
